Pumpkin Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I am absolutely shocked about this recipe. I just made it and it was inedible. I don't know what happened or why mine would be so totally different than everyone else but man! The nuts burned, there was hardly anything that resembled cake etc. Awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I made this the other day because I thought it mimicked a recipe I have and couldn't find. When I got the first layer all mixed up I thought it seemed way too runny to press anything into it, and I couldn't picture it baking in an hour either. So, I mixed the cake mix right into the pumpkin mix. I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice so I used 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp nutmeg. I also didn't have pecans, so I decided to add a cup of chocolate chips. It baked in the time suggested to a really moist cake with a wonderful flavor. I will definitely make this my way again, and give that 5 stars. I feel the recipe as written, however, is only a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Sooo very good. This is by far better than Pumpkin Pie. I also used only 1/2 C. butter. Used salted butter and omitted salt in the recipe. Also added a bit of nutmeg and a handful toffee chips along with the pecans Perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I followed some other reviewers advice, and used unsalted butter. I followed everything else exactly, and it was a big hit at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonie, New York, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
The pumpkin pie part tasted great. My pecans burnt, but the pie would have been mushy if I didn't let it cook longer. I might try to experiment putting the pecans below and between the layer of cake. w/o pecans, this recipe works just as well. And it is very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Amazing! i didnt have any pumpkin spice so I used cinnamon instead. Still was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grlsnowglobe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is one of my favorite desserts! It keeps for months in the freezer, and is especially good if you take a frozen piece of it and reheat in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Ann Steeb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hingham, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This cake was awesome!!! It was a huge hit on Christmas Day. I followed the recipe exactly with no changes and it came out great. This recipe is sweet but everyone in my family loves sweets. Will definately make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Made this for my girl friends and they flipped over it. Everyone wanted this recipe. My husband really liked it too. When pressing down the cake batter, make sure to really press hard into the bottom mixture. I found that this way helped tone down some of the crunchiness. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
What a hit for Thanksgiving!! I wasn't sure what it was going to turn out like but it was really like a pumpkin cobbler. Much tastier than pumpkin pie. I only used one cup of sugar and I toasted the pecans in butter before putting them on. Cooked for exactly 60 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States