Pumpkin Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This cake deserves more than 5 stars. This cake is the "BOMB". I added spices to my cake, like cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and allspice just because I alway's doctor up anything I make with pumpkin. I took it to a christmas party and it was a hit, everyone wanted the recipe by the end of the night. I brought the new French Vanilla cool whip to my friend's house who had the party and they all loved that too. They both went great toghether. OH and one last thing, I strongly recommend doubling the filling amount or the cake will be thin especially in a 9X13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I just returned from a Pumpkin Fest at church in which I entered this recipe into the recipe contest and won first place! I made it in a springform pan and added 10 extra minutes to the cook time. I also found adding the nuts to the crumb mixture made them set very well into the cake! I saved one piece for myself and now look forward to enjoying it with a cold glass of milk on this beautiful fall evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
This is a great cake. It is more like a cake/pie....the perfect combination! The recipe does not quite fill a 9x13 pan so I used a round spring form pan. Had to cook it a bit longer because it was thicker. It looked really nice out of the pan because you could see the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I have made this recipe many, many times already and it's only been a month since I saw it. My family and friends have asked me to bring it every time we get together and at least 2 people will ask me for the recipe every time I bring it some where. People who don't like pumpkin pie tell me that they love this recipe. I will tell you that I substitute the 1 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon for 1/4 tsp. each of ginger, allspice, nutmeg, cloves, and cinnamon. I also cut down the butter and the white sugar. I only use 2/3 of a stick of butter for the bottom crust and use the rest for the top instead of using a whole stick for the bottom and almost a half of a stick for the top. I also cut the sugar down to a little under the 1/2 mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
The longer they sat, the better they tasted. Will definitely make again. I did use an 8x8 pan because the recipe wasn't large enough to fill a 9x13. The layers looked great when they were cut into bars. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
My family gave this a thumbs up! We are trying pumpkin desserts each weekend before Thanksgiving and this one was their favorite! Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
I made this for my husband and the guys in his office and it was a huge hit! I have made it several times and find that it tastes better chilled. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Yummy! Although the topping was a bit too sweet for me. I think that i will use half of the sugar in the topping.Oh, and definitely use the 9x13 pan. I used the 8x8 pan and had to bake for twice as long! I know it doesn't seem to be able to fill the pan, but it expands a lot as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
My mother gave me a similar recipe 25 years ago and I have been making it for Thanksgiving every year since then. Our filling recipe varies slightly in ingredients. Mine has 1 15 oz can pumpkin, 3/4 cup sugar, 1 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, 1/4 tsp. ground cloves, 2 eggs, 1 cup evaporated milk. This makes it more like true pumpkin pie in the middle. Also, when putting the first layer in the pan, pat the bottom slightly higher on the sides to help keep the pumpkin filling in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Very delicious. My son doesn't like pie crust so I'm always looking for ways to use pumpkin. FYI- If you're using a glass 9 x 13, make sure to keep a close eye on it. My crust started to burn. Next time will cook at 325. My fault not yours Debbie, great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States