Pumpkin Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I am not a baker by any means. This was simple and such a HIT at Friendsgiving. I did take some user's advice and double the pumpkin filling - it turned out perfect. I added pumpkin spice, all spice and an extra sprinkle of brown sugar to the top layer. Thank you, Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Loved this recipe!! The flavor and texture of this cake was wonderful. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
great, but double the pumpkin! 2 cans work nice... thicker cake/pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb McLaud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I've never done a review but this one is worth telling others about. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Waaayyy too sweet! Holy buckets. I might make this recipe again, but I'm going to leave out at least half of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hosmer, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Huron, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Yum.... I didn't have yellow cake so I used carrot cake. Tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I suppose I was expecting something more like a crumble or cake, but it was definitely like eating pumpkin pie with a really thick crust. I enjoyed the crumble on top, but it just felt like it was missing something. It might be better with spices other than cinnamon (and more of them!) and a thinner bottom layer. As written, we just thought it was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I have been making a dessert similar to the "Upside Down Pumpkin Cake" for several years, and I figured that I would try a different version to compare. I was quite disappointed with this recipe. The bottom crust has little flavour and the pumpkin filling tastes very bland and "eggy"-- almost like a weird custard. The best part is the topping, in my opinion, and there isn't very much of it on this recipe. Other versions use the entire cake mix for the top, which I prefer. As for the filling, other recipes use evaporated milk and twice the pumpkin which improves the taste a lot. I won't make this version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lurel White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Very yummy. Great Receipe ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I took "Sweetcakes" advice and doubled the filling. I too add spices to just about everything. Cinnamon, Nutmeg and Cloves always with Pumpkin. Because the density was doubled, it took more than twice the time to bake -- but well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States