Pumpkin Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cinnamonshirls
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Delicious and my husband loved it. I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg to the pumpkin filling and 1/4 cup sugar to the crumb topping after reviews said the crumb topping was too sweet with 1/2 cup sugar. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinnamonshirls
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This was awesome! I am a fan of pumpkin desserts but this one is better than pumpkin pie. I will be adding this to my Thanksgiving table. I did change the white sugar to brown sugar for the topping mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reandeau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I made orig recipe as written, but topping was WAY dry, not near enough butter to make a nice crumbly topping from that much dry ingredient. Someone else suggested cream cheese, which i used about 3 or 4T in addition to the 3T butter. Baked 350 for 50mins in a 9x13 nonstick pan coated in veg spray. Topping was still a little dry even w like 1/2c butter+crm cheese mixed in. The end result was good, not great. very sweet, like triple pumpkin pie sweet, CANDY sweet. Too rich and more yellow cake flavor than pumpkin. This was a lot of cinnamon, which for me was not enough layers of spice flavors, sort of 1 dimensional, and very little pumpkin flavor. The pumpin was kind of an after taste on your palette, but mostly the white sugar and yellow cake batter overwhelms. Next time will try some modifications, a little less sugar in the whole recipe (1/3c ea), and definately double the filling to make in a 9x13 pan. I may even just try Libby's pre-spiced pumpkin pie can mix (brown label 30oz can) because their spice IMO is just right. I might also try a white cake mix and add a touch of vanilla. And I think the topping needs some TLC, needs brown sugar (may try half each brown and white, enough to equal 1/3c total sugar) and a pinch of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Has become a family favorite but don't forget the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
It tasted okay, but not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
better than pumpkin pie..everyone who has tried it loves it..and so simple to make ..I took it to my son's for Thanksgiving and my daughter-in-law texted me and said she wanted one for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Pretty good. I would put in a smaller pan next time probably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Amazing! So easy and tastes incredible !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have been making this for years when the kids come for the holiday's the first thing they ask is dad making his pumpkin cake. I found that by switching yellow cake mix for Spicecake really makes the other flavors POP and if you cover the cake mix with pats of butter (side by side) unmelted it will create an awesome crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
More than five stars! My husband,our 3 kids, and myself are in love with this recipe and does not last more than 12hrs in our house. I will be using the pumpkin part as a filling for pie this time and will forever use this recipe. 10 thumbs up#Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States