Pumpkin Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This dish was great for the season change of FALL, it was really good and the guest loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Wowsa! Really good after I cut back the sugar by 1/2 cup and it was still pretty sweet! I added a dash of ground cloves and nutmeg; I had an odd sized pyrex that was 8.5 x 11.5 but it worked out great! The crust layer was a little hard to work with. It wasn't so much thick as it was sticky and hard to spread. This was great about an hour after it came out but wasn't as great the next day after it spent the night in the refridgerator (because of pumpkin filling). The moisture made it a bit too soft and was no longer crunchy/crumbly on top. I would make this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
My mother gave me a similar recipe 25 years ago and I have been making it for Thanksgiving every year since then. Our filling recipe varies slightly in ingredients. Mine has 1 15 oz can pumpkin, 3/4 cup sugar, 1 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, 1/4 tsp. ground cloves, 2 eggs, 1 cup evaporated milk. This makes it more like true pumpkin pie in the middle. Also, when putting the first layer in the pan, pat the bottom slightly higher on the sides to help keep the pumpkin filling in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Easy and delicious! I brought this to the family Thanksgiving dinner instead of pumpkin pie and got nothing but raves. I followed previous suggestions to double the crumble topping. It really is a good substitute for (if not improvement on) the old, standard Pumpkin Pie. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was awesome! It was cheap and SO easy and made a large dessert! The only thing I would change is I would not add so much (or any) sugar in the topping. It was SUPER sweet ontop of an already sweet dessert. I added alot more nuts on top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lal5505

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Very simple and tasty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
All I can say is OH MY GOD!!! These are delicious!!!!! I followed recipe exactly and sprinkled chopped pecans on top. YUMMY!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Pera Reznik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
A firend made this for us last night. It was perfect in a 9x9 cake pan. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This cake much easier and faster to make than my other layered pumpkin dessert recipe. My husband LOVED it and insisted I make it again. I used the 9x13 pan as suggested and, though the bottom layer seemed thin, it expanded nicely and made a very substantial pan of cake that serves more like a bar. The second time I made the cake, I used 8 oz of CREAM CHEESE in the top crumble instead of the butter - keeping the cheese a little chunky. It was even better! The cream cheese really balances the sweetness of this dessert and rounds out the flavors. As other reviews noted, less sugar in the topping would be fine and less butter in the crust would be worth trying. This is a sweet and very rich dessert. As for the filling: This is a lot like pumpkin pie filling. With that in mind, I added 2 T of cream the second time. The pumpkin flavor was a little less sharp. I might try doubling the filling next time to make something more like a pumpkin dessert than a bar. Great basic recipe that I will turn to regularly; Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States