Pumpkin Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I made this the day before thanksgiving and it held up great. Kept it in the fridge to keep its form. I read different reviews and decided to change some things up. I recommend a spring pan, place wax paper on the bottom for easy clean up. The spring pan adds great thickness for this dish. I used a 20 oz can of pumpkin and added more sugar for it. I also added a lot of cinnamon and all spice seasonings. For the crust I like to mix the pecans in the batter so it can mesh together. My family said it was a 5star professional baked dish. I tried to upload a picture of the final display but could not access the upload.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ApaturaLilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Legit! Gets that pumpkin pie flavor in there but with a great twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
People continually say that there is not enough cake mix but if you look carefully, the cake box mix they list is 18.5 ounces and the usual Betty Crocker or Duncan Hines box of yellow cake is 15 or so ounces so plan accordingly. If you note that difference it is a fantastic recipe. I tried it in one of those brownie pans that is "S" shaped so that you get all pieces with edges and it is really fantastic in that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
recipe was very good but I did a lil extra I added 1/2 cup milk and 1 tsp vanilla to the pumpkin mixture, keeps center a lil more moist. Also for a lil more twist instead of can of pumpkin use pumpkin pie mix, yum yum yum!!! My fav. with a lil whipped cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This..cake..is..amazing! Soo delicious! I eat healthy so I used a no sugar cake mix and used egg and sugar substitutes and it turnes out so good. I took it to work and they all raved about it too. The texture is very appealing and the pumpkin taste is just right, not too overpowering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I made this again for my family's Thanksgiving dinner with a few changes. I used a spice cake mix, which really kicked up the flavor a notch. Like the first time, I used fresh pumpkin puree and pecans. I added an extra egg and 3/4 bar of cream cheese, but I didn't really notice a firmer texture nor the flavor of cream cheese. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is overwhelmingly sweet and trust me I love sweets! I even reduced the 1/2 c. white sugar to 1/3 c. I also used a 8 x 11.5 inch pan which worked well. I changed the spices to 1/4 tsp. each of cloves, ginger, allspice, nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon which was nice. It would have been better with nuts, but I omitted them due to my daughter's nut allergy. I would not call this recipe-cake, it is more like a layered pumpkin bar. It almost tastes like pumpkin cheesecake. Great recipe if you are making it to serve small pieces to lots of people, but too rich to eat very much at one time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My husband HATES pumpkin pie but LOVES these bars. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Absolutely amazing! The only difference I did was adding a tad less butter to the cake and the topping. Everyone loved it. I put the leftovers on the counter instead of the fridge and the cake crust didn't get soggy the next day :) Will def be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Quick & easy to make, but tastes SO good! Everyone always asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States