Pumpkin Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
FANTASTIC recipe! I made it in a 9x13 pan and it was great. I wish I had whipped cream to put on top of each piece, but I didn't have any. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Made pretty much as directed except that I halved the white sugar in the recipe and subbed brown sugar for the crumble topping (also reduced to about 1/3 cup). My hubby, who does not care for pumpkin, said it was very good. There were enough flavors going on that he didn't just taste pumpkin. DD loved her "pumpkin pie cake." Thanks for sharing a recipe that the whole family could agree on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I sent this to work with my husband and after only having it out of his office and in a consummable place for 15 minutes I've already gotten rave reviews and a recipe request. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This cake is really good.Followed the suggestion of the springform pan and recommend it.It makes the cake more attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I made this today and it was absolutely wonderful! I did not use the 9x13 but a square pan instead..I wonder if you need to actually roll the crust part out to fit the 9x13? Either way it was delicious and I will definitely make this again. I did put walnuts on the top too! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I used white cake mix and a 9*13 glass cake pan, it was done perfectly in about 40 minutes. My husband and kids both love this dessert and are already asking me to make it for Thanksgiving which is fine by me, it's easier than pumpkin pie =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I made this recipe according to my taste and it turned out great. First, I decreased the amount of sugar in the crumb mixture by 1/2 cup, and it still turned out sweet,without being over sweet. I heated the pumpkin mix on low, and stirred in the sugars, salt and used pumpkin pie spice rather than cinnamon and let the flavours blend. I let the mixture cool, before adding the eggs. I made the cake in a springform pan, which allowed for easier serving and presentation. I made the cake the day before, as others had said it tasted better overnight. Before serving, I re-heated the cake in the over, which allowed the crumb topping to crisp up. It tasted great and was a big hit at dinner. Be sure to use a drip pan if using a springform pan, just in case of any leaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Used 8 x 11 glass baking dish. Used white cake mix. Used 1 Tbsp. Watkins Pumpkin Pie Spice AND a generous dash of Watkins cinnamon. To get a uniformly lightly browned topping I had to bake about 50 minutes. Now for the taste-test verdict: holy toothache, Batman! This cake is seriously sweet. And I have a sweet tooth famous in these parts--I love cakes and candy, the sweeter the better. The 'crust' and the 'topping' were both too sugary for my liking. I did appreciate the pumpkin pie-like filling though, it wasn't overly sweet and had just enough spice ...yummy. I sampled this straight from the oven and I will give it another taste today now that it's been in the refrigerator, maybe that is why I thought it too sweet? I don't know if I'd try *this* recipe again...but the idea is cool so I will try another variation. My very picky, very anti-sweets husband said it was an amazing dessert...go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This recipes is amazing. I tweeked it some and added a block of cream cheese to the filling and baked it for 1 hour and I added to the crumb topping by mixing it with my Fruit Crisp topping recipe that has chopped walnuts, oats and cinnamon in it. Added 3/4 of a stick of melted butter and a dash of maple syrup. Great recipe!! Definately putting this at the top of the thanksgiving dessert list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
5 stars is an understatement!! The BOMB is an understatement! Even a pumpkin hater would love this! I doubled the recipe so that it would fit into a 10X13 pan. The outside edges were perfectly cooked (left it in for 5 mins longer). The inside was cooked but not as tender and cake like as the outside pieces. Inside had more of a pie type texture. Don't get me wrong it was ALL GOOD!!!. Taking it to church for an Octoberfest....very seasonally appropriate! THANKS FOR THE GREAT RECIPE....will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommeern

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States