Pumpkin Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this, as a copy of something I had at a restaurant, and it was even better. I used spice cake mix, as it is what I had on hand, and it was spicy and had a great pumpkin taste. I used pumpkin pie spice, instead of cinnamon, and it was perfect. Will make again for company, but it was too many servings for 2 people at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I like this recipe for pumpkin cake the best. I like the cake mix pressed into the bottom and then part of it on top rather than others that they just put the cake mix on top. The only thing I do differently is I actually make pumpkin pie filling and use it rather than this pumpkin mixture. Love this, it's been a family favorite for years and years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyde Park, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
these are amazing a hit every time i make them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelseairis88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was excellent but it was more like a pumpkin bar than a cake. The one little change I did make was to mix in chopped pecans for the topping instead of just sprinkling them on top. When I first tried a small piece, the topping seemed to be very sugary, crunchy and was so hard it cracked and came off in chunks as I cut it. I thought I had messed up somewhere along the line. After it sat, refrigerated for several hours, the top had softened up and was no longer sugary! I made two for my son and my daughter to take to their work parties, the night before, and it was loved by all. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Wow this is excellent! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I've had this before a couple of different ways and I LOVE it. I strongly recommend these modifications to this recipe: -use softened, not melted, butter plus 1 Tbsp of water for the base cake -add 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to pumpkin mixture -double the amount of pumpkin, and use fresh if you have it (equals 3 cups or so) -cut the white sugar back by 1/4 cup in the pumpkin mix, and down to 1/3 c. in the topping. -substitute turbinado (or demererra) sugar in the topping - it gives it a fabulous slight crunch But whatever you do - DO make this - it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Oh wow! This is amazing! Made as is no changes except for the fact that I used an 8x 11 inch dish. I took a tiny bit longer than 45 minutes. This is pure heaven!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
These were way too sweet for me, and I have a sweet tooth! I made the recipe as written. I don't know how it would turn out if you reduced the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! Bye bye pumpkin pie, I will take this pumpkin crumb cake over pumpkin pie any day! And the layers look beautiful when cut and served! Thanks for a great recipe Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Shimberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I would cut back on the sugar a bit. It was very sweet and I think for the amt of pumpkin used the bottom layer should be a little thicker... Maybe even double the cake mix.. This would probably be really good if you sunstitued apples and raisins for the topping also. A traditional crumb topping would be nicer also.. But I must say everyone seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BetteLovr1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States