Pumpkin Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is overwhelmingly sweet and trust me I love sweets! I even reduced the 1/2 c. white sugar to 1/3 c. I also used a 8 x 11.5 inch pan which worked well. I changed the spices to 1/4 tsp. each of cloves, ginger, allspice, nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon which was nice. It would have been better with nuts, but I omitted them due to my daughter's nut allergy. I would not call this recipe-cake, it is more like a layered pumpkin bar. It almost tastes like pumpkin cheesecake. Great recipe if you are making it to serve small pieces to lots of people, but too rich to eat very much at one time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My husband HATES pumpkin pie but LOVES these bars. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Absolutely amazing! The only difference I did was adding a tad less butter to the cake and the topping. Everyone loved it. I put the leftovers on the counter instead of the fridge and the cake crust didn't get soggy the next day :) Will def be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Quick & easy to make, but tastes SO good! Everyone always asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I'm rating based on some adjustment advice I took from other reviews. I cut the butter substantially - used only one stick for the whole recipe and it was more than sufficient. I added about 2/3 of the stick to the base cake and the rest to the topping. Although it seems there's not enough dough for the base, there is plenty - just get your clean hands into it, and spread! I added lots more spice to the filling, including pumpkin pie spice, and nutmeg, and cut the sugar slightly. I used about 1/2 of the sugar in the recipe for the topping and I stirred the chopped nuts into the topping before I crumbled it on the pumpkin, might as well make that one step instead of two. I saw where several people said this was more of a bar.. mine rose just fine & was a perfect CAKE, as written. This was a huge hit at work tonight, with whipped cream and good coffee. I'll definitely make it again, with the changes as noted.. and I might add some nuts to the crust level too - I like it crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This recipe is out of this world. I mean it! I think this may be one of the best recipes I have ever made. We polished this off in no time, and I'm running to the store later to make another one tonight. I didn't use a yellow cake mix, though. I used a caramel cake mix with pecans sprinkled on top, and it turned out great. Definitely using this recipe for Thanksgiving! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
OMG!!!!! Loved this, did it for Canadian Thanksgiving this year and it was mouth watering! I used a french vanilla cake mix and put almonds on it. I also baked it in a spring form pan as some others suggested. It took about 55 minutes and it looked aweseome when you could see the layers. My mouth is watering just thinking about it!! Enjoy every bite. It is good with whipped cream or ice cream. Oh ya, I also drizzled caramel on it just before serving as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Made this last night exactly as written, and it was DEVOURED by my sons within an hour. I had a little bit, and it was delicious! So easy to put together too....I'll be making this again, for sure! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Great recipe - try with chocolate cake with chocolate chips on top! You MUST let sit overnight to get best flavor. I didn't use any sugar in the topping, and cut the butter in half on the crust and it was still wonderful and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Absolutely, delicious treat. Family ate this dessert up in a matter of minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States