Pumpkin Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Martha Wilson
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Fantastic recipe! Easy to make "as is" or adapted to personal taste. To fill the whole pan I doubled the pumpkin filling & crumb topping. I also spiced up the pumpkin filling like I would a pumpkin pie, and used brown instead if white sugar in the crumb topping. Served cold w/ vanilla ice cream had my very picky Latino in-laws going for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I would use less sugar. It is too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessc1223
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Yum! I followed everyone else's advice, and used an 8x8 pan. I also added nutmeg in the pumpkin mix (1 tsp), and sprinkled cinnamon and nutmeg on top of the crumble before baking. I think next time, I will do half white sugar/half brown sugar for the crumble. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I loved this recipe!! made it with the help of my daughter and it was a great bonding time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cinnamonshirls
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Delicious and my husband loved it. I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg to the pumpkin filling and 1/4 cup sugar to the crumb topping after reviews said the crumb topping was too sweet with 1/2 cup sugar. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinnamonshirls
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This was awesome! I am a fan of pumpkin desserts but this one is better than pumpkin pie. I will be adding this to my Thanksgiving table. I did change the white sugar to brown sugar for the topping mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reandeau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I made orig recipe as written, but topping was WAY dry, not near enough butter to make a nice crumbly topping from that much dry ingredient. Someone else suggested cream cheese, which i used about 3 or 4T in addition to the 3T butter. Baked 350 for 50mins in a 9x13 nonstick pan coated in veg spray. Topping was still a little dry even w like 1/2c butter+crm cheese mixed in. The end result was good, not great. very sweet, like triple pumpkin pie sweet, CANDY sweet. Too rich and more yellow cake flavor than pumpkin. This was a lot of cinnamon, which for me was not enough layers of spice flavors, sort of 1 dimensional, and very little pumpkin flavor. The pumpin was kind of an after taste on your palette, but mostly the white sugar and yellow cake batter overwhelms. Next time will try some modifications, a little less sugar in the whole recipe (1/3c ea), and definately double the filling to make in a 9x13 pan. I may even just try Libby's pre-spiced pumpkin pie can mix (brown label 30oz can) because their spice IMO is just right. I might also try a white cake mix and add a touch of vanilla. And I think the topping needs some TLC, needs brown sugar (may try half each brown and white, enough to equal 1/3c total sugar) and a pinch of spices. --UPDATED-- the next time i made this, used white cake mix and the other modifications i mentioned above. i also used the Lg libby prespiced pumpkin. MUCH better with these changes! i'll upgrade my rating to 4 stars with my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Has become a family favorite but don't forget the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
It tasted okay, but not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
better than pumpkin pie..everyone who has tried it loves it..and so simple to make ..I took it to my son's for Thanksgiving and my daughter-in-law texted me and said she wanted one for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States