Pumpkin Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Delicious although very very sweet. Will cut back on sugar next time. Loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaniger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this, as a copy of something I had at a restaurant, and it was even better. I used spice cake mix, as it is what I had on hand, and it was spicy and had a great pumpkin taste. I used pumpkin pie spice, instead of cinnamon, and it was perfect. Will make again for company, but it was too many servings for 2 people at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I like this recipe for pumpkin cake the best. I like the cake mix pressed into the bottom and then part of it on top rather than others that they just put the cake mix on top. The only thing I do differently is I actually make pumpkin pie filling and use it rather than this pumpkin mixture. Love this, it's been a family favorite for years and years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyde Park, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
these are amazing a hit every time i make them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Iris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was excellent but it was more like a pumpkin bar than a cake. The one little change I did make was to mix in chopped pecans for the topping instead of just sprinkling them on top. When I first tried a small piece, the topping seemed to be very sugary, crunchy and was so hard it cracked and came off in chunks as I cut it. I thought I had messed up somewhere along the line. After it sat, refrigerated for several hours, the top had softened up and was no longer sugary! I made two for my son and my daughter to take to their work parties, the night before, and it was loved by all. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Wow this is excellent! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I've had this before a couple of different ways and I LOVE it. I strongly recommend these modifications to this recipe: -use softened, not melted, butter plus 1 Tbsp of water for the base cake -add 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to pumpkin mixture -double the amount of pumpkin, and use fresh if you have it (equals 3 cups or so) -cut the white sugar back by 1/4 cup in the pumpkin mix, and down to 1/3 c. in the topping. -substitute turbinado (or demererra) sugar in the topping - it gives it a fabulous slight crunch But whatever you do - DO make this - it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Oh wow! This is amazing! Made as is no changes except for the fact that I used an 8x 11 inch dish. I took a tiny bit longer than 45 minutes. This is pure heaven!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
These were way too sweet for me, and I have a sweet tooth! I made the recipe as written. I don't know how it would turn out if you reduced the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! Bye bye pumpkin pie, I will take this pumpkin crumb cake over pumpkin pie any day! And the layers look beautiful when cut and served! Thanks for a great recipe Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Shimberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States