Pumpkin Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Super good! Served this at a large dinner then took the leftovers to the office. Everyone loved it. Thanks! This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This is a super good pumpkin dessert. It is not really a "crisp" like the title claims but more of a cross between pumpkin pie and a cake. The bottom and top are cake-like and the middle has all the flavor and creamy texture of a pumpkin pie. But whatever you want to call it...it is delicious! I made a couple small tweaks. I used 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice in place of the cinnamon and nutmeg. I could not find an 18.5 ounce cake mix so I used a 16.5 ounce mix and added 5 tablespoons of all purpose flour and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Well this was the first time I can honestly say I wasn't impressed with a recipe. I wasn't happy with the "crisp" part of this recipe. It was not crispy. All the recipes for Pumpkin Cake or Upside Down Pumpkin Cake have a very nice crisp/crunchy topping. I like the idea of a crust like layer on the bottom of this recipe. And the pie filling was very good. After this point I would now follow the recipe for those other cakes and use another box of yellow cake mix and sprinkle the dry ingredients all over the pie filling, and then about 2 cups chopped pecans, followed by 1/2 cup melted butter poured evenly over the top. May want to use a little more butter. Then cook as per the recipe. The cake mix on top cooked this way with the pecans, etc give the cake a very nice crunchy top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
The crust was great the pumpkin part not so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Oh this is SOO good!! Due to allergy I used a gluten free cake mix (Hodgson Mills Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix), it is delicious!!! This will definitely be making appearances at the holiday tables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by slacourse
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Everyone in my family loved it, even my little brother (and he's picky). My topping didn't come out crumbly, but it was hard, so there was still a crisp to the dessert (I followed some other people's advice and used half brown sugar). Will probably be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slacourse

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This is delicious. The only thing I didn't like about it was the topping. There was too much butter and it wasn't like I could just add more cake mix to it by then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this according to the recipe using a King Arthur Flour Co golden vanilla cake mix that was a little past its "use by" date. I had no trouble covering the surface with the topping mixture - I went lightly at first to cover and then went back to fill in. A little extra baking time took the topping from goo to crisp. Everyone said it was good and went back for another square. It won't replace pumpkin pie for me, but it is a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was a different twist than the usual pumpkin pie. It has a really nice flavor.The bottom of mine baked just fine but the top layer of pumpkin right under the streusel didnt cook completely. I added brown sugar and cinnamon to the streusel topping and it made it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
It tastes better the next day, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States