Pumpkin Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Made this yesterday for Thanksgiving, and everyone loved it. I also had a problem with the topping. It was in one big lump. Somehow I put small pcs. of the mixture all over, covering the top. and it came out almost caramelized. Thanks Bunny for this wonderful(especially warm from the oven)recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Getting tired of the same old pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving, so I thought I try something a little different. Enter Pumpkin Crisp. Nice substitute for regular pumpkin pie and is a nice accompaniment to my requisite apple pie. The yellow cake is so much more interesting than standard pie crust and marries well with the pumpkin filling. However the topping mixture didn't work out all the well as it was not turning into coarse crumbs during preparation. Too much butter? Not enough cake mix? I ended up adding more flour (about 1/2 cup) and 2 tbsps of sugar (might try brown sugar next time), and a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg to cut the flour taste to the topping mixture in order to get the consistency right. This gave me more than enough topping and I may even back off a bit on the amount of topping I add to the dish next time. But it was a hit and I'll definitely make it again. 4 stars for flavor and "interesting" factor, a star off for recipe adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinnamon Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Eventhough I messed up the cake mix part, my family loved it. Use less butter in the crust for sure. Nutmeg goes a long way so I reduced it to 1/4t. I didn't have evaporated milk so I subbed 3T melted butter & enough whole milk to equal 2/3c. I'll try it again without talking. That should help. Ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This Pumpkin Crisp is wonderful, I took it to a church function and came home with none. However it gets better if it sits overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I added two tablespoons of flour to the pumpkin mixture and it firmed up perfectly. I used pumpkin pie spices with cinnamon and it was excellent! My family prefers this to pumpkin pie and the 9x13 size serves at least 10, with generous servings. It tasted even better the next day. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
Very tasty and quick to make - my family loves especially my 7-year-old daughter - amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
Very good made just as the recipe states!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I made this last fall and didn't think it was anything special. A co-worker asked me today when I was going to make it again. I guess it was memorable! The flavor is good, but I don't know that I would call it pumpkin 'crisp', it seems too moist to fit that title. Either way, I'm making it again for my co-workers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
Very easy to make, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I found this to be moist, even runny. Was it cooked? That was the question of the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States