Pumpkin Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I have made this recipe often and it always a hit. I forgot about it this year and just made it again. As for the topping, I use hard butter and cut it into the mixture. It turns out much better and is more of a "crisp" topping, but not quite. This is a great fall recipe. I will be making lots of these to take to family and friends when invited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
It was OK. It wasn't fabulous, but it wasn't bad. And it wasn't a CRISP. I found the instructions to soften the butter in the crust odd, usually you would want cold butter to cut in. I didn't hate it, don't get my wrong. I ate it. But, I do think there are better pumpkin recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I made this today using the exact recipe and did not see it's similarity to pumpkin pie. This was SO SO sweet! With pumpkin pie the crust is slightly salty and compliments the filling. In this recipe the crust on the bottom and the "crisp" top are so sugary from the cake mix. I would only recommend this if you like super sweet deserts. It's no rival for real pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stonehill26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Quick, easy, and crowd pleasing! My only substitution was using a Cinnamon Swirl cake mix (Betty Crocker) I had on hand, instead of using yellow cake mix. It was probably better for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
During the Holidays, I like to make pumpkin desserts. But honestly, I'm more of a fan of the idea of pumpkin than the actual thing. This dessert was right up my alley. It's very similar to the fruit crisps you can make with a cake mix and lots of butter. I took it to a church luncheon and several women asked for the recipe. I had a little left over to bring home, but it seemed like everyone who tried it liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDSUMMERMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is a great alternative to Pumpkin pie. While the topping did carmelize, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I ate this at a church potluck and came home and got right on here to print out a copy of this for myself! The topping was carmelized and the overall taste of this dessert is divine. I am going to add this to my Thanksgiving menu this year. Maybe I will try to cut fat by using less butter in the topping, that will kill two birds w/ one stone since it seems like people had trouble with the topping not crumbling also. However, it is great made just like the recipe states if fat weren't an issue in my house, I'd make it without any revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stressedcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
My first pumpkin recipe ever and it was delicious. I used fresh pumpkin and sweetened condensed milk. Much better than pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Awesome recipe. I took this to work and the Gen. Mgr. of the company said it was better than any pumpkin pie he has had. Scored major brownie points there, and the recipe was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paxton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
The recipe was great, everyone agrees that this will be our Thanksgiving dessert instead of traditional pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States