Pumpkin Cream Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I have made cream puffs for years and used a recipe just like this. I use a smaller amount of dough for each puff and it makes 24-25. I bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes then let cool completely. I decided to try pumpkin this year and I bought the Libby's pumpkin pie mix in the can with the spices and sweetness already added. I mixed 1 1/2C pumpkin pie puree with 6oz. of cream cheese. In a separate bowl, I whipped the heavy whipping cream with 1T. of vanilla and 1/4 cup granulated sugar until stiff peaks formed. Then I folded the pumpkin/cream cheese into the whipped cream. Then I filled the puff pastry. I also put a dab of the filling on the top of the puffed pastry with a roasted pecan piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I made these last year, and they were easy to make for me, and I had never made cream puffs before. I thought they were delicious, and lasted a couple of days lightly covered with waxed paper in the refrigerator! I will make them again,and,maybe with Pistatio filling for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
made these and OMG..THEY ARE WAY OUT OF THIS WORLD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
The pumpkin puffs were great. The only modification I would do is make double on the puffs. Great do ahead, place cooled puffs in air tight container and filling in the frigerator. I put togetner right before serving. The puffs were still great. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was wonderful. It was my first time making choux pastry and it turned out great! The only thing I did differently was that I doubled the amount of powdered sugar in the filling. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slowcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were very DELICIOUS! They could use a little more sugar. Other than that, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Thank you for such a lovely recipe! I made the cream puffs with another recipe I used previously for strawberry cream puffs, but the pumpkin filling was a roaring success at my sister's birthday party! The cream filling had the delicious essence of pumpkin and was the perfect autumn dessert. I will definitely try it again in the future, and I'll try the cream puff recipe too! Super easy recipe that yields lots of adoring fans! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
The puffs came out much better when I used salted butter instead of unsalted. The pinch of salt that it calls for doesn't do much and it's nice to have the slight saltiness to balance the sweet filling. For the filling, I found a whole can of pumpkin puree to be to heavy. I used half of the can and it kept the filling lighter and more "whip cream" like. What a lovely treat these cream puffs are!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megmackenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very attractive for the holidays. The filling could use a bit more powdered sugar; maybe even a cup. The puffs are very easy and could be used for multiple fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Made per recipe. 2 c. of cream is way 2 much. U will have so much filling. This is why 4 stars. Don't like sweet desserts but I recom. another 1/4-1/2 c. more of P.Sugar to be added IF using the 2c. of cream. Used 15 oz of Libby's 100% pure pumpkin. U can adjust pumpkin to your taste. Next time I will use 1 c. H. cream, 1/2 c. P.sugar & adjust pumpkin to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Cream Puffs

Vanilla pudding makes the easy creamy center for this impressive dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States