Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Didn't like at all, glad I only baked a small batch to try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this recipe going heavy on the spices (for full pumpkin pie flavor) and went with gluten-free flour for a family member. Came out delicious; after freezing, they hold up well, only a little dry in the bottom section. Great for breakfast with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
These were very good after a few changes (thanks everyone for the suggestions!). I used part brown and part white sugar in the muffins to improve the moisture, added some extra sugar to the cream cheese (wished I would've used powdered sugar in that), and added extra cinnamon, some nutmeg, and cloves to the batter. I put a little batter on the bottom of my muffin cups, used a scoop to drop in a large dollop of cream cheese, covered that with the rest of the batter, then finished with the streusel. There was no problem with the cream cheese staying in the center. I also baked them at 350 degrees. I had just enough cheese mixture and topping for 19 muffins, so I made two plain (I obviously got 21 muffins out of this recipe). They rose very high and did not overflow even though the cups were pretty full. They look great and are very moist. I have noticed with pumpkin bread that the flavor improves after a day, so I am interested if these will taste better tomorrow. I shared these and everyone thought they were great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
My daughter made these muffins and they were superb. Tey are very moist and flavorful. The only thing is we added a little nutmeg and allspice to the batter along with some brown sugar which made it even more flavorful. WE also added a little allspice to the topping. The cream cheese is not mushy it makes it nice and moist. Great Fall muffin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
First of all, I'm not sure how the five star folks got a good muffin out of this recipe without heavily doctoring it with spices. I had to add quite a bit of pumpkin pie spices - cloves, more cinnamon, ginger, all-spice - to get any kind of flavor into these. Secondly, I made the "cream cheese filling" exactly as the recipe states. As most of the other three to one star reviewers found, it became basically like a cream cheese glaze once it melted into the strudel topping. I did make one alteration: I added toasted pumpkin seeds to the strudel topping (pre-packaged, David brand because I didn't have any fresh ones on hand yet) and they gave the topping a salty-sweetness that I really liked. The muffins are dense and, once properly spiced, are definitely great. Make sure you absolutely do not overfill the muffin cups; the batter is thick and you'll run out if you overfill them. All in all, a good recipe with heavy modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
So here is my take on these muffins... They are pretty good if you make them as directed, but I made some changes that I think made them excellent! I like to eat muffins for breakfast, so I wanted to be able to at least pretend that they were healthy for me. I made the cream cheese filling as directed (with reduced fat cream cheese!), but skipped the streusel and ended up just sprinkling the tops with chopped pecans prior to baking. I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and added 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. This boosted the flavor and they still ended up plenty sweet. I also substituted half the oil for apple sauce. I encountered problems when trying to cover the filling with more batter. The filling ended up a bit runny, and the batter a bit thick. I solved this problem by deciding to swirl the filling with the top layer of batter. They looked a little messy prior to baking, but came out with a lovely marbled/swirl look. They taste wonderful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Soft and moist but if I make them again, I'll A) use less canola oil! It's all I can taste! and B) put in more cinnamon or perhaps some pumpkin spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I wont be making these again. Not sure if i did something wrong, but the texture was horrible, maybe too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
These were pretty good! I was sad when Starbucks pulled their pumpkin cream cheese muffins, so I gave it a try. I used sunflower oil instead of olive oil because it adds an aftertaste in baked or heated dishes that I didn't want. I also used pumpkin seeds on top instead of streusel or pecans because I wanted them to be just like the Bucks! They were good and everyone loved them. Next time I will probably add another egg since they were a little dense and I would like them to be more cake-like, I also want to suggest to layer half of your muffin in the mold, then spoon on the cream cheese, then top with the other half of the muffin mixture. It was difficult to get the cream cheese in the middle because the batter was so dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
These are not attractive muffins. I made them for a club event but decided to leave them at home. They looked unappetizing. In fact, I may not let my husband eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States