Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
First of all, I'm not sure how the five star folks got a good muffin out of this recipe without heavily doctoring it with spices. I had to add quite a bit of pumpkin pie spices - cloves, more cinnamon, ginger, all-spice - to get any kind of flavor into these. Secondly, I made the "cream cheese filling" exactly as the recipe states. As most of the other three to one star reviewers found, it became basically like a cream cheese glaze once it melted into the strudel topping. I did make one alteration: I added toasted pumpkin seeds to the strudel topping (pre-packaged, David brand because I didn't have any fresh ones on hand yet) and they gave the topping a salty-sweetness that I really liked. The muffins are dense and, once properly spiced, are definitely great. Make sure you absolutely do not overfill the muffin cups; the batter is thick and you'll run out if you overfill them. All in all, a good recipe with heavy modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
So here is my take on these muffins... They are pretty good if you make them as directed, but I made some changes that I think made them excellent! I like to eat muffins for breakfast, so I wanted to be able to at least pretend that they were healthy for me. I made the cream cheese filling as directed (with reduced fat cream cheese!), but skipped the streusel and ended up just sprinkling the tops with chopped pecans prior to baking. I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and added 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. This boosted the flavor and they still ended up plenty sweet. I also substituted half the oil for apple sauce. I encountered problems when trying to cover the filling with more batter. The filling ended up a bit runny, and the batter a bit thick. I solved this problem by deciding to swirl the filling with the top layer of batter. They looked a little messy prior to baking, but came out with a lovely marbled/swirl look. They taste wonderful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Soft and moist but if I make them again, I'll A) use less canola oil! It's all I can taste! and B) put in more cinnamon or perhaps some pumpkin spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I wont be making these again. Not sure if i did something wrong, but the texture was horrible, maybe too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
These were pretty good! I was sad when Starbucks pulled their pumpkin cream cheese muffins, so I gave it a try. I used sunflower oil instead of olive oil because it adds an aftertaste in baked or heated dishes that I didn't want. I also used pumpkin seeds on top instead of streusel or pecans because I wanted them to be just like the Bucks! They were good and everyone loved them. Next time I will probably add another egg since they were a little dense and I would like them to be more cake-like, I also want to suggest to layer half of your muffin in the mold, then spoon on the cream cheese, then top with the other half of the muffin mixture. It was difficult to get the cream cheese in the middle because the batter was so dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
These are not attractive muffins. I made them for a club event but decided to leave them at home. They looked unappetizing. In fact, I may not let my husband eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These are LOVELY! Made a few changes based on reviews...put the cream cheese mixture in the middle muffin. I used muffin liners and I'm glad I did...the cream cheese kind of went to the outside of the muffin instead of staying in the middle (which is no biggie) though I might just try it on top like the recipe says next time. Added a teaspoon of pumpkin spice (in addition to the cinnamon) to the batter. And lastly, I used the whole can of pumpkin. I almost skipped the topping (to avoid washing another dish), but I'm SURE glad I didn't. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Mine turned out amazing! Like one or two others, these have become my new "signature" muffin for all gatherings and occasions. I didn't find any difficulty in the process. I fill mine a little more than half full and get jumbo sized results. I did add a spoon of batter on top of the cream cheese before adding the streusel topping and find that they hold together just fine and allow the cheesecake flavour to come through longer! Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stayner, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Loved this recipe!! things i did differently was add 1 cup of white sugar and then 1 cup of brown sugar instead of 2 cups of all white sugar. I put the cream cheese filling in a ziplock bag and stuck the tip in the batter and it turned out nicely. I also filled all the muffins to the brim of the tray, so when they cooked they would be giant and exploding out of the tray. They looked wonderful. I would have added pumpkin spice and nutmeg to the recipe as well but I didnt have that at the time myself. They are very moist and dense and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States