Pumpkin Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was great. I used pecans instead of walnuts. I used one cup of pumpkin puree. I added 1/2 cup sweetened flaked coconut--a great addition that my family liked. One Tbsp. of pumpkin pie spice is equivalent to: 1-1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 3/4 tsp. ginger, 3/8 tsp. cloves and 3/8 tsp. nutmeg. Thank you, Linda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I've been making this same recipe for years. I always use fresh cranberries (which I keep in the freezer and add directly to the batter) and substitute applesauce for half-to-all of the oil. It still comes out moist, just a little less heavy. I love this bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I had to bake this bread two different times -- my first loaf had a thick, doughy texture (probably because I only baked it for 60 minutes). My second time, I still used one 9x5 in. pan and baked it for 1 hr. and a half, and it came out perfect. I also added 2 tsps. of vanilla extract and an extra egg. For the 2 c. sugar, I used 1 c. white and 1 light brown. The taste is excellent! If you use only one 9x5 pan, you might have to cover the top with foil to prevent overbrowning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
LOVE this bread. I used freesh pumpkin from our fall pumpkins. SOOOO good. The one thing I would say is you would want to sift the dry ingrediants or be sure to mix it up really well so there are no lumps of flour. I found that with the first batch the lumps of flour never blended into the bread while it cooked and I ended up with a few dry lumps of flour in the baked bread. I like to bake extra and slice it up to freeze individual pieces to be taken out when ever I just want a nibble to enjoy with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I just loved this bread! I did use fresh cranberries, which I rough-chopped in the food processor, and I did add a little more spice (cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and cloves.) Also, I added 1/4 cup applesauce. The recipe yielded 2 (8x4) loaves, and 2 mini loaves. I just delivered my 2 larger loaves to the neighbors for a Thanksgiving treat! My husband and I treated ourselves to a mini-loaf, first...and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I've never cooked with cranberries before and was skeptical about making this, but it turned out wonderful. It's moist, not too sweet, a perfect bread with coffee or tea. I used 2 cups of fresh cranberries and baked it for 55 minutes. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
This bread was very good; moist and not too sweet. I used fresh, rather than dried cranberries because that's what I had. Next time I'll use more cranberries. I'll bet using 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar would make this recipe even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This is SOOO good! I love this stuff! I'll be adding this one to my recipe file. I got 5 mini loaves out of the recipe and baked them for 40 minutes. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
This is a moist cakey bread, but it isn't too sweet! It was a hit at Thanksgiving. I cooked for the full hour and it turned out perfect! I also sprinkled the dried cranberries on top and they turned out crunchy...that didn't turn out so well. I would just fold the entire bag of "craisins" into the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was a really good base recipe. When I first used it I was pretty inexperienced in pumpkin bread, but have since made dozens of loaves and learned a lot! First, I much, MUCH prefer to use fresh pumpkin puree than canned. You just cannot get the same fresh flavor from a can and, really, it's not that much more work. I highly recommend using fresh/frozen cranberries which have been roughly chopped for a really nice, tart bite of flavor in every mouthful. For most loaves I either reduce or omit the oil and add instead either apple sauce, sour cream, plain yogurt or a combo of two of those things. We like spicy bread so we add quite a bit more pumpkin pie spice and a bit more cinnamon as well. I replace half the white sugar with brown. If you change ONLY one thing, use fresh/frozen cranberries! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States