Pumpkin Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This recipe was excellent. I followed it exactly except for I used raisins instead of cranberries. I'll definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Delicious!! I used a few suggestions from some of the other reviewers: -used half the amount of sugar (a little over 1 cup) -used fresh cranberries (cut in half) -replaced 1/2 the oil (1/4 cup) with applesauce -used pecans instead of walnut -baked in muffin tins for 25 min (made 20 muffins) They came out just right -- moist, with a good balance of sweetness and tanginess (from the cranberries), and they were a hit in the office today! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I have made this recipe twice and I really liked it the second time, after I made some changes. The first time I used whole-frozen cranberries and the berries exploded making little pools of sauce in the bread. I liked it, but the cranberries weren’t spread out enough in the bread. The second time I cut the frozen berried in ½ and that was better. Instead of two pans, (I like taller bread), I used one 9.25x5.25 inch loaf pan and cooked it at the recommended temperature for about 70 minutes. I started checking it at 60 minutes. Once I took it out of the oven, I left the bread in the pan and put it on a cooling rack for about 15 minutes. Then I removed it from the pan and let it almost completely cool before I cut it. I will make this bread again and again! Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Sorry, but I was not thrilled with the results. The bread has a great flavor, but I found myself picking out the dried cranberries. Next time I'll just leave them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I had to bake this bread two different times -- my first loaf had a thick, doughy texture (probably because I only baked it for 60 minutes). My second time, I still used one 9x5 in. pan and baked it for 1 hr. and a half, and it came out perfect. I also added 2 tsps. of vanilla extract and an extra egg. For the 2 c. sugar, I used 1 c. white and 1 light brown. The taste is excellent! If you use only one 9x5 pan, you might have to cover the top with foil to prevent overbrowning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
These might be the most perfect muffins I've ever made--consistency and taste wise--but I made several adjustments. I halfed the recipe. I used half whole wheat flour to supplement the reg. white flour. I used sweet potato puree instead of pumpkin, and substituted half brown sugar and Agave (natural liquid sweetener comparable to honey). And I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I used a little less oil and a little more of the puree. And I made muffins instead of bread--baked for exactly 25 mins, they were perfect. Made 9 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Fabulous recipe! I used 1c whole wheat flour, 1c all purpose flour, 1/4c wheat germ and fresh cranberries for a healthier version. I also baked them in a muffin tin for 20 - 22 minutes. They were the best muffing I've eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Okay. Pretty good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I have been making this recipe for several years now. It is one that I make at Christmas as give aways. Everyone loves it and I am asked to be sure to make it. I have modified it by using applesauce instead of oil and omit the nuts in case anyone has alergies. No one misses them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I liked this recipe but I think next time I will use fresh cranberries. I mixed in half whole wheat flour and half unbleached flour and the consistency turned out nicely. Great easy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States