Pumpkin Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I always have dried cranberries on hand so when I was looking for a pumpkin bread recipe this one caught my eye. I wasn't disappointed. This makes a very dense, flavorful loaf. As this recipe yields less batter than many others, I believe I will use smaller pans (8-1/2" X 4") the next time. I like a nice tall loaf! I would be really careful substituting applesauce for oil in this recipe. For a tea bread, it really is fairly low fat to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is DELICIOUS! I will be making this for Thanksgiving and for Christmas presents. I cut back on the oil without substituting applesauce (only because I didn't have any) and it still turned out fine. I used whole cranberries that were previously frozen and after an hour there was still a little batter goop near the berries so I microwaved each loaf for a couple minutes to help cook the goops. I definately recommend making this in double batches as you most likely have a loaf eaten before the oven even has time to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This bread had a wonderful texture, no where near a fruit cake texture that was mentioned before. I did add pecans like other cooks have, and I used dried cranberries, but I boiled them first in water so they were back to a soft texture. I made mini loaves, and gave 2 away, and kept two. The kids loved it, as did the people that recieved the ones I gave away. Very good recipe - perfect for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tearsfromleslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipler, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I made this bread to share with family/friends. Everyone loved it. I thought it was a little thick/heavy but it tasted wonderful. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
My husband and I really liked this bread especially when it was still warm. I substituted all of the oil with applesauce and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. For anyone interested, the whole recipe with substitutions was 79 points, divide that by how many slices you cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
We found this to be a very yummy bread, I tried using honey instead of the sugar for a more healthy alternative but turned out too sweet for my liking so will try the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I love it!!! I am a veterinary student, so I don't have much time for cooking, and this I can just whip up. My fellow students smell it and come running :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
pretty good. family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Wilkinson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Excellent bread, I doubled the recipe and baked it in 12, 1 pint wide mouth straight side canning jars at 325* for about 45 min. Fill the jars 1/2 full, set right on the rack in oven and put the lids on as soon as you remove from oven. They'll "seal" and then you can wrap the jars with decorative fabric or whatever. Stays fresh for 5-7 days, or you can freeze it right in the jar. Fun gift. I also added about 1 cup of plain yogurt (doubled recipe) and about 1 cup of quick oats, and split the nuts between walnuts and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Good- froze well. Would make again if so inclined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHASESMAMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States