Pumpkin Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I've had better. I did try half applesauce half oil which others warned against so the rubberlike texture was my fault. I also used half the sugar which I would not reccomend especially if you use fresh wild cranberries. So overall not so great, I would try a different recipe next time, one that I can substitute some of the oil since that is my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsbourne
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very nice tea time or breakfast bread! Followed the directions exactly,and it turned out well. I did have to extend the baking time by 8 min, but that may be my oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIN243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I am not a baker, but this one turned out! It was moist and not too sweet. I read the other reviews and decided to make one loaf in a 9X5 pan and cook it for 1 hour and 30 minutes. It turned out to be just right. I did add the foil over the top after about 1 hour. I also switched the cranberries out for raisins so it would be less seasonal and did 1 1/2 cups of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. It worked so well I would make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Great quick bread-not too sweet and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This bread is really good. After making it once, I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups for the next batch, didn't add cranberries, substituted pecans, used a flax meal egg substitute, and it still tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
What a great anytime snack! My 3rd batch is in the oven now and it's definately going into my recipe arsenal. I added an extra egg and didn't use the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Delicious!!!! Very moist and satisfying. The mellow pumpkin flavor was a perfect complement to the tart cranberries. I ommitted the nuts and doubled the cranberries ( I used fresh) for 4 mini loaves. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
my family loves this bread, i sub half the flour for whole wheat,and half the sugar for splenda, can't tell the difference, and instead of nuts, due to allergies in the family, i use a diced up granny smith apple. Delicious. makes to be great muffins also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Johnson
Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I always have dried cranberries on hand so when I was looking for a pumpkin bread recipe this one caught my eye. I wasn't disappointed. This makes a very dense, flavorful loaf. As this recipe yields less batter than many others, I believe I will use smaller pans (8-1/2" X 4") the next time. I like a nice tall loaf! I would be really careful substituting applesauce for oil in this recipe. For a tea bread, it really is fairly low fat to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is DELICIOUS! I will be making this for Thanksgiving and for Christmas presents. I cut back on the oil without substituting applesauce (only because I didn't have any) and it still turned out fine. I used whole cranberries that were previously frozen and after an hour there was still a little batter goop near the berries so I microwaved each loaf for a couple minutes to help cook the goops. I definately recommend making this in double batches as you most likely have a loaf eaten before the oven even has time to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States