Pumpkin Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I actually changed this recipe to make it healthy. I substituted one cup of flour with whole-wheat flour and the rest I used organic brown rice flour. I subbed applesauce for the oil, and splenda for the sugar, real pumpkin for half of the pumpkin, and fresh cranberries. It came out super delicious for a healthy bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Holy Smokes! Addictive. Halved the recipe and also subbed 1/2 whole wheat flour, and added 1/2 tsp soda to help give it a bit of lift. Used the dried cranberries and I don't have a problem at all with the end result. Baked it in 8" square pan (couldn't find my loaf pan - how do these things happen?) and it turned out just fine - baked approx. 35 minutes. Five stars and two enthusiastic thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Excellent. Just the right combination of flavors. Like others, I used fresh cranberries instead of dried, and doubled the amount (one whole cup per loaf). The berries softened and burst while baking, keeping the bread moist but not overly so. I also used a combination of black walnut and hickory nuts, which worked very nicely. Some notes: This was just a bit sweet for my taste, so I'll use 1/5 less sugar next time. Watch your cook time (mine was done in less than 45 minutes). Make extra--this appeals on both the plate and the palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made this without the walnuts. It was really tasty, but didn't expand as much as I thought it would. I might add a bit more baking powder next time so it's a little less dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
The bread itself is good, but I don't like it with the dried cranberries. It'd be better with fresh cranberries. Or, I should have softened them in warm water first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made this tonight- and I am an expert baker as well as have a husband who is a retired MASTER CHEF...we have VERY high standards...I used a stone-wear pampered chef 4 mini loaf pan and baked on 350 for 50 minutes using convection oven... also substituted raw turbinado sugar for the white sugar (same amount) and instead of pumpkin pie spice I used cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and allspice-and instead of cranberries I used 2 cups of Dried pitted tart montmorency cherries and chopped pecans in lieu of walnuts-lastly I sprinkled turbinado sugar on the tops of the batter of each loaf before baking...my husband who is NOT a huge eater- devoured an entire mini loaf before they were removed from the pans to the cooling racks- that says IT ALL... this is a great base recipe and I will be using it over and over again- with dried cranberries and other ingredients- will also be gifting mini loaves of this FOR SURE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My family LOVES this recipe! I always have to double it because everything is eaten within a couple of days! I cut the sugar in half and use frozen cranberries, but you really can't taste the difference. Most of the time, I will add frozen blueberries in addition to cranberries (~ 1-2 cups). This just adds to the moistness and flavor of the bread. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
So the first time I made this I was so excited since the idea of the cranberries, spices and pumpkin smelled and sounded so good BUT it was a total flop! I subed the dried crans for fresh, since I had some I wanted to use up and upped the sugar a little and decreased the liquid...I got a mushy bread. I didn't give up and tried it again, following the recipe and got a perfect loaf that was WONDERFUL. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I've had better. I did try half applesauce half oil which others warned against so the rubberlike texture was my fault. I also used half the sugar which I would not reccomend especially if you use fresh wild cranberries. So overall not so great, I would try a different recipe next time, one that I can substitute some of the oil since that is my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsbourne
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very nice tea time or breakfast bread! Followed the directions exactly,and it turned out well. I did have to extend the baking time by 8 min, but that may be my oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIN243

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States