Pumpkin Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Fabulous! Great holiday recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Very moist but I did not like the pumpkin & cranberry combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Delicious! I subbed applesauce for the oil and used homemade pumpkin puree. It was so good! I froze the second loaf for later. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Lacking pumpkin pie spice I used 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp each of ginger, allspice, and nutmeg-- a good ratio. I used dried cranberries as the recipe stated and I think that they work quite nicely. It didn't rise much, next time I might use a narrower pan to get a higher loaf. It might be nice with additional nuts and perhaps pumpkin seeds sprinkled on top. Make sure you smooth the top before baking, rather than leave strange globs on top like I did-- they don't melt out into the batter as I expected. Overall I would say that this is a pleasant-tasting quickbread and I will make it again, although I may experiement with ways to reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Made with canned butternut squash instead of pumpkin. Good but not amazing. . . I just don't love anything with squash or pumpkin in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I actually changed this recipe to make it healthy. I substituted one cup of flour with whole-wheat flour and the rest I used organic brown rice flour. I subbed applesauce for the oil, and splenda for the sugar, real pumpkin for half of the pumpkin, and fresh cranberries. It came out super delicious for a healthy bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Holy Smokes! Addictive. Halved the recipe and also subbed 1/2 whole wheat flour, and added 1/2 tsp soda to help give it a bit of lift. Used the dried cranberries and I don't have a problem at all with the end result. Baked it in 8" square pan (couldn't find my loaf pan - how do these things happen?) and it turned out just fine - baked approx. 35 minutes. Five stars and two enthusiastic thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Excellent. Just the right combination of flavors. Like others, I used fresh cranberries instead of dried, and doubled the amount (one whole cup per loaf). The berries softened and burst while baking, keeping the bread moist but not overly so. I also used a combination of black walnut and hickory nuts, which worked very nicely. Some notes: This was just a bit sweet for my taste, so I'll use 1/5 less sugar next time. Watch your cook time (mine was done in less than 45 minutes). Make extra--this appeals on both the plate and the palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made this without the walnuts. It was really tasty, but didn't expand as much as I thought it would. I might add a bit more baking powder next time so it's a little less dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
The bread itself is good, but I don't like it with the dried cranberries. It'd be better with fresh cranberries. Or, I should have softened them in warm water first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States