Pumpkin Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Delicious!! I used a few suggestions from some of the other reviewers: -used half the amount of sugar (a little over 1 cup) -used fresh cranberries (cut in half) -replaced 1/2 the oil (1/4 cup) with applesauce -used pecans instead of walnut -baked in muffin tins for 25 min (made 20 muffins) They came out just right -- moist, with a good balance of sweetness and tanginess (from the cranberries), and they were a hit in the office today! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I have made this recipe twice and I really liked it the second time, after I made some changes. The first time I used whole-frozen cranberries and the berries exploded making little pools of sauce in the bread. I liked it, but the cranberries weren’t spread out enough in the bread. The second time I cut the frozen berried in ½ and that was better. Instead of two pans, (I like taller bread), I used one 9.25x5.25 inch loaf pan and cooked it at the recommended temperature for about 70 minutes. I started checking it at 60 minutes. Once I took it out of the oven, I left the bread in the pan and put it on a cooling rack for about 15 minutes. Then I removed it from the pan and let it almost completely cool before I cut it. I will make this bread again and again! Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Sorry, but I was not thrilled with the results. The bread has a great flavor, but I found myself picking out the dried cranberries. Next time I'll just leave them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I had to bake this bread two different times -- my first loaf had a thick, doughy texture (probably because I only baked it for 60 minutes). My second time, I still used one 9x5 in. pan and baked it for 1 hr. and a half, and it came out perfect. I also added 2 tsps. of vanilla extract and an extra egg. For the 2 c. sugar, I used 1 c. white and 1 light brown. The taste is excellent! If you use only one 9x5 pan, you might have to cover the top with foil to prevent overbrowning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
These might be the most perfect muffins I've ever made--consistency and taste wise--but I made several adjustments. I halfed the recipe. I used half whole wheat flour to supplement the reg. white flour. I used sweet potato puree instead of pumpkin, and substituted half brown sugar and Agave (natural liquid sweetener comparable to honey). And I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I used a little less oil and a little more of the puree. And I made muffins instead of bread--baked for exactly 25 mins, they were perfect. Made 9 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Fabulous recipe! I used 1c whole wheat flour, 1c all purpose flour, 1/4c wheat germ and fresh cranberries for a healthier version. I also baked them in a muffin tin for 20 - 22 minutes. They were the best muffing I've eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Okay. Pretty good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I have been making this recipe for several years now. It is one that I make at Christmas as give aways. Everyone loves it and I am asked to be sure to make it. I have modified it by using applesauce instead of oil and omit the nuts in case anyone has alergies. No one misses them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I liked this recipe but I think next time I will use fresh cranberries. I mixed in half whole wheat flour and half unbleached flour and the consistency turned out nicely. Great easy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I followed this recipe with few changes- fresh cranberries, more spices and half brown sugar for white. Like another reviewer what I got was a big disappointment. Okay flavor but the texture is way off. The loaves rose very little (my baking powder is fairly recent, so that wasn't it). So the end result is unpalatable. I also only needed 40 minutes the oven. Thank God I didn't sub whole wheat flour or I'd have doorstops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States