Pumpkin Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was great. I used pecans instead of walnuts. I used one cup of pumpkin puree. I added 1/2 cup sweetened flaked coconut--a great addition that my family liked. One Tbsp. of pumpkin pie spice is equivalent to: 1-1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 3/4 tsp. ginger, 3/8 tsp. cloves and 3/8 tsp. nutmeg. Thank you, Linda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I've been making this same recipe for years. I always use fresh cranberries (which I keep in the freezer and add directly to the batter) and substitute applesauce for half-to-all of the oil. It still comes out moist, just a little less heavy. I love this bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I had to bake this bread two different times -- my first loaf had a thick, doughy texture (probably because I only baked it for 60 minutes). My second time, I still used one 9x5 in. pan and baked it for 1 hr. and a half, and it came out perfect. I also added 2 tsps. of vanilla extract and an extra egg. For the 2 c. sugar, I used 1 c. white and 1 light brown. The taste is excellent! If you use only one 9x5 pan, you might have to cover the top with foil to prevent overbrowning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
LOVE this bread. I used freesh pumpkin from our fall pumpkins. SOOOO good. The one thing I would say is you would want to sift the dry ingrediants or be sure to mix it up really well so there are no lumps of flour. I found that with the first batch the lumps of flour never blended into the bread while it cooked and I ended up with a few dry lumps of flour in the baked bread. I like to bake extra and slice it up to freeze individual pieces to be taken out when ever I just want a nibble to enjoy with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I just loved this bread! I did use fresh cranberries, which I rough-chopped in the food processor, and I did add a little more spice (cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and cloves.) Also, I added 1/4 cup applesauce. The recipe yielded 2 (8x4) loaves, and 2 mini loaves. I just delivered my 2 larger loaves to the neighbors for a Thanksgiving treat! My husband and I treated ourselves to a mini-loaf, first...and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I've never cooked with cranberries before and was skeptical about making this, but it turned out wonderful. It's moist, not too sweet, a perfect bread with coffee or tea. I used 2 cups of fresh cranberries and baked it for 55 minutes. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
This bread was very good; moist and not too sweet. I used fresh, rather than dried cranberries because that's what I had. Next time I'll use more cranberries. I'll bet using 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar would make this recipe even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This is SOOO good! I love this stuff! I'll be adding this one to my recipe file. I got 5 mini loaves out of the recipe and baked them for 40 minutes. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
This is a moist cakey bread, but it isn't too sweet! It was a hit at Thanksgiving. I cooked for the full hour and it turned out perfect! I also sprinkled the dried cranberries on top and they turned out crunchy...that didn't turn out so well. I would just fold the entire bag of "craisins" into the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was a really good base recipe. When I first used it I was pretty inexperienced in pumpkin bread, but have since made dozens of loaves and learned a lot! First, I much, MUCH prefer to use fresh pumpkin puree than canned. You just cannot get the same fresh flavor from a can and, really, it's not that much more work. I highly recommend using fresh/frozen cranberries which have been roughly chopped for a really nice, tart bite of flavor in every mouthful. For most loaves I either reduce or omit the oil and add instead either apple sauce, sour cream, plain yogurt or a combo of two of those things. We like spicy bread so we add quite a bit more pumpkin pie spice and a bit more cinnamon as well. I replace half the white sugar with brown. If you change ONLY one thing, use fresh/frozen cranberries! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States