Pumpkin Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
The bread itself is good, but I don't like it with the dried cranberries. It'd be better with fresh cranberries. Or, I should have softened them in warm water first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made this tonight- and I am an expert baker as well as have a husband who is a retired MASTER CHEF...we have VERY high standards...I used a stone-wear pampered chef 4 mini loaf pan and baked on 350 for 50 minutes using convection oven... also substituted raw turbinado sugar for the white sugar (same amount) and instead of pumpkin pie spice I used cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and allspice-and instead of cranberries I used 2 cups of Dried pitted tart montmorency cherries and chopped pecans in lieu of walnuts-lastly I sprinkled turbinado sugar on the tops of the batter of each loaf before baking...my husband who is NOT a huge eater- devoured an entire mini loaf before they were removed from the pans to the cooling racks- that says IT ALL... this is a great base recipe and I will be using it over and over again- with dried cranberries and other ingredients- will also be gifting mini loaves of this FOR SURE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My family LOVES this recipe! I always have to double it because everything is eaten within a couple of days! I cut the sugar in half and use frozen cranberries, but you really can't taste the difference. Most of the time, I will add frozen blueberries in addition to cranberries (~ 1-2 cups). This just adds to the moistness and flavor of the bread. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
So the first time I made this I was so excited since the idea of the cranberries, spices and pumpkin smelled and sounded so good BUT it was a total flop! I subed the dried crans for fresh, since I had some I wanted to use up and upped the sugar a little and decreased the liquid...I got a mushy bread. I didn't give up and tried it again, following the recipe and got a perfect loaf that was WONDERFUL. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I've had better. I did try half applesauce half oil which others warned against so the rubberlike texture was my fault. I also used half the sugar which I would not reccomend especially if you use fresh wild cranberries. So overall not so great, I would try a different recipe next time, one that I can substitute some of the oil since that is my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsbourne
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very nice tea time or breakfast bread! Followed the directions exactly,and it turned out well. I did have to extend the baking time by 8 min, but that may be my oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIN243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I am not a baker, but this one turned out! It was moist and not too sweet. I read the other reviews and decided to make one loaf in a 9X5 pan and cook it for 1 hour and 30 minutes. It turned out to be just right. I did add the foil over the top after about 1 hour. I also switched the cranberries out for raisins so it would be less seasonal and did 1 1/2 cups of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. It worked so well I would make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Great quick bread-not too sweet and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This bread is really good. After making it once, I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups for the next batch, didn't add cranberries, substituted pecans, used a flax meal egg substitute, and it still tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
What a great anytime snack! My 3rd batch is in the oven now and it's definately going into my recipe arsenal. I added an extra egg and didn't use the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States