Pumpkin Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I just loved this bread! I did use fresh cranberries, which I rough-chopped in the food processor, and I did add a little more spice (cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and cloves.) Also, I added 1/4 cup applesauce. The recipe yielded 2 (8x4) loaves, and 2 mini loaves. I just delivered my 2 larger loaves to the neighbors for a Thanksgiving treat! My husband and I treated ourselves to a mini-loaf, first...and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
The FLAVOR was GREAT, but the texture was very, very dense and moist, almost like fruit cake. I was looking for a more cake-y, bread-y recipe. I substituted fresh cranberries and used a blend of ground cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and ginger in place of pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This is a winner! Perfect balance of ingredients. I use 1/2 walnuts and 1/2 pecans just because I do so in many recipes for personal taste. Otherwise, recipe is wonderful as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This bread tastes good but the texture is so-so. The first time I made it, it seemed a bit thick and heavy but everyone enjoyed the flavor. The next time, I replaced the oil with applesauce and it was a fiasco. The bread did not cook through even after 90 minutes in the oven. I finally took it out because the top was burnt, but the middle was still extremely doughy. If I ever made this again I would definitely use oil instead of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was moist with a delicious flavor. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Easy & DELICIOUS! LOVE IT & make it every year for gift giving at Christmas & also for our family feasts at both Thanksgiving & Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Awesome flavor. I cut the sugar in half though and it came out wonderfully. Also, it only took me about 40 minutes to bake (wowza!) so make sure you keep an eye on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I have made this recipe for the past few years, every fall, and it's always a hit! The only changes I make are that I use fresh cranberries (a texture thing, I don't like the feel of the dried) and I make my own blend of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger in lieu of the pumpkin pie spice mix. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I have made this more times than I can count since I found this recipe. It is truly the best pumpkin bread recipe out there. The cranberries add so much flavor! I have substituted applesauce for the eggs, which worked fine and helped make it a little healthier too. Also, I think you can safely cut down on the sugar a bit without impacting the taste too much, if you are concerned about the sugar content. Using Craisins will keep the bread sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Everything sounded great about this recipe except for the amount of sugar. I used half the amount called for and it was plenty sweet for me. I also used white whole wheat for half of the flour. It turned out very tender and moist. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States