Pumpkin Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I love these! This has become my go-to recipe for corn muffins & I make them often. I make the recipe exactly as written, although I sometimes used another cooked, mashed winter squash (butternut, acorn, kabocha, etc.) instead of pumpkin. I love the addition of the pumpkin - extra nutrition plus it keeps the leftovers moist, unlike other corn bread recipes. Love the added flavor & texture of the pecans, too. I often have these with stew or a soup for dinner, then have the leftovers with jam for breakfast the next morning or send them in my kids' lunches. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delicious! I thought these would be mediocre, but I wanted to try it out. WOW, the texture, moistness, and density is so perfect! So tasty too, but I added some spices for the more pumpkin-like fall taste. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Yum! I made this for my daughter's Pre-School Thanksgiving Feast. They loved them. I exchanged the canola oil for some homemade applesauce. Added a bit of chunkiness for texture and made them even healthier! I also used mini-muffin tins since they were for pre-schoolers. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This recipe is really yummy. Cornbread with a hint of pumpkin and very moist. It doesn't turn out as well if you don't make them in muffin tins. The center doesn't get done. I didn't use nuts and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I am not usually inspired to write reviews, but this recipe is a keeper! I think these basically taste like corn muffins, but the pumpkin makes them so moist and delicious! They don't crumble like regular corn muffins usually do, and they just have a bit more character. They went well with baked beans on a winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
i love cornbread and have been on a pumpkin kick lately so this sounded like a good idea. i just pulled the muffins out of the oven and they are delicious!! perfect hint of sweetness and pumpkin and i didn't have to change a thing about the recipe! i can't wait to share these w/ my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I made this cornbread to go with some pumpkin chili I made -- these were top notch! The pumpkin made it moist and cake-like, not dry and crumbly, making you want to choke, like most cornbread I've had! I substituted 1/4c applesauce in for the oil, and also used 1/4c whole wheat flour with 3/4c all-purpose flour. Would be great with butter, but they were best eaten plain when they came out of the oven, I didn't want to spoil the delicate pumpkin taste. These seem like they would even hold up to a sweeter, chocolate-chip breakfast version (probably a cornbread sin of some sort, though?)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
These are wonderful! They are not too sweet, so they can be served with chili/soup. The pumpkin makes them moist (and healthy). You've got to try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKANDANGIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made these sugar free using splenda and sugar free maple syrup for the brown sugar. I also used whole wheat flour. They are terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These muffins are really delicious. I replaced the oil with more pumpkin and added cinnamon and ginger. They turned out fantastic! So much flavour, very moist, and the perfect mix of my two favourite muffins! Much better than I even thought they would be :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States