Pumpkin Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
made these the night before for a quick out the door Sunday breakfast. loved the crunch and texture from the cornmeal. made a few changes. used unsweetend applesauce and a couple tablespoons of butter. they were nice and moist from the pumpkin and yummy with my morning coffee. will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
These are wonderful! They are not too sweet, so they can be served with chili/soup. The pumpkin makes them moist (and healthy). You've got to try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKANDANGIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Pretty good...mine came out a bit dry, but the flavor was decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I made this cornbread to go with some pumpkin chili I made -- these were top notch! The pumpkin made it moist and cake-like, not dry and crumbly, making you want to choke, like most cornbread I've had! I substituted 1/4c applesauce in for the oil, and also used 1/4c whole wheat flour with 3/4c all-purpose flour. Would be great with butter, but they were best eaten plain when they came out of the oven, I didn't want to spoil the delicate pumpkin taste. These seem like they would even hold up to a sweeter, chocolate-chip breakfast version (probably a cornbread sin of some sort, though?)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
i love cornbread and have been on a pumpkin kick lately so this sounded like a good idea. i just pulled the muffins out of the oven and they are delicious!! perfect hint of sweetness and pumpkin and i didn't have to change a thing about the recipe! i can't wait to share these w/ my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I am not usually inspired to write reviews, but this recipe is a keeper! I think these basically taste like corn muffins, but the pumpkin makes them so moist and delicious! They don't crumble like regular corn muffins usually do, and they just have a bit more character. They went well with baked beans on a winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I had to use whole wheat flour and walnuts as that was what I had on hand and I thought they turned out great. A healthy quick breakfast with honey or jam, but equally good with soup as Christi Larsen says. I would not add any spices as it would seem more like a dessert and would not go with everything so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nobel, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I love these! This has become my go-to recipe for corn muffins & I make them often. I make the recipe exactly as written, although I sometimes used another cooked, mashed winter squash (butternut, acorn, kabocha, etc.) instead of pumpkin. I love the addition of the pumpkin - extra nutrition plus it keeps the leftovers moist, unlike other corn bread recipes. Love the added flavor & texture of the pecans, too. I often have these with stew or a soup for dinner, then have the leftovers with jam for breakfast the next morning or send them in my kids' lunches. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Even adding cinnamon, ginger, pumpkin spice, & vanilla... these barely had any flavor. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
i made these muffins with a mexican-themed chicken cassarole, because i had some leftover pumpkin in the freezer from the holidays. my kids and boyfriend loved them. i didn't deviate at all from the recipe, and they are not a dessert muffin at all, more of a cornbread taste, but very good. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States