Pumpkin Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This recipe in my opinion doesn't have enough flavor but my parents like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I looove this recipe. I make a non fat version of it by adding just egg whites instead of the whole egg and I exchange the oil with fat free sour cream. I also do not add the nuts, even though I love nuts, but for it to be fat free they aren't added. I have also exchanged the pumpkin with sweet potatoes or banana, and they turn out super moist and keep at-least a week in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattiBarton
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These were nice enough. My pickiest son even liked them enough to say so later in the evening.(my pumpkin hating husband didn't eat the meal when I served these *grin*) The pumpkin was more subtle than I personally would have liked, but perhaps I simply didn't pair these with the right meal? One reviewer used applesauce instead of oil, which actually sounds quite good. However, if one wanted more of a pumpkin flavor, one could substitute more pumpkin for the oil instead of applesauce, no? (at least sometimes, depending on the meal)? I personally enjoyed the texture and sweetness (except that my son made these up and he slightly over baked them, so they were a tiny bit dry - I don't think they were dry simply because we used 3/4 C whole wheat and 1 C corn meal...not likely anyway, at least, not based on my past experiences). These muffins were not extremely sweet, but not savory at all. I'd say, for comparison's sake, that these are not quite as sweet as, say, Jiffy corn muffins. If I were pairing these muffins with an autumn salad, then I might actually sweeten them a tad more and add some cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and cloves, and perhaps some chopped dates at times. On the other hand, if I were serving these with a pumpkin-turkey chili with traditional chili spices (no sweet spices) I might make them as is. I'll have to toy around with these some and see when/how they work best for our family (well, the kids and myself anyway....). Thanks for some 'food' for thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
A bit dry. might use applesauce and cook less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I tried this out for our thanksgiving dinner and after my boyfriend confessed he didn't like cornbread he raved about these muffins! They were rich and earthy, very moist and just a bit sweet. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I had one cup of left over pumpkin in the fridge when I read this recipe. Perfect. Made the recipe as written and was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Nice alternative to conventional corn bread. I skipped the nuts, added 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice, and sprinkled the top with a tiny bit of coarse salt and coarse raw sugar. That made them savory sweet: good with chili and then the next morning for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Took these corn muffins to a women's potluck and got several compliments. They are about as sweet as a Jiffy corn muffin. I baked the muffins for 14 minutes and thought they were a bit dry so you might check them after 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
better if you omit the nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This was good. I used fresh pumpkin, substituted applesauce for oil, 1 tsp. cinnamon and left out pecans. Baked at 425 for 12 minutes and they were nice and moist. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States