Pumpkin Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I made these in a 9 x 9 pan and it was almost done in the middle! Left out the nuts but would love to try them again and include the nuts. Loved them! Will definitely make them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
These were great and perfect with chili. I used 3 TB of unsweetened applesauce instead of oil and skipped the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
These sounded good but turned out sort of heavy and dense. I guess not what I really had in mind. Taste OK though, so will still go fine with our chili tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made these to go with chili and they were fabulous. I did, of course, switch things up a bit due to ingredients on hand. I used 1/2 cup flour, 1 and 1/4 cup cornmeal, 1 can of pumpkin, no oil, 3 tablespoons maple syrup and omitted the brown sugar. I made one batch without nuts and one with and both were delicious. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Weisiger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
These are really good. To make it a little heathier, I used half wheat flour and I also used applesauce instead of canola oil. I made these to go with chili and it was the perfect pairing. I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I absolutely love this corn bread! I made them into muffins, and they aren't very pretty, but I thought they were great. Not sweet, perfect with stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This recipe in my opinion doesn't have enough flavor but my parents like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I looove this recipe. I make a non fat version of it by adding just egg whites instead of the whole egg and I exchange the oil with fat free sour cream. I also do not add the nuts, even though I love nuts, but for it to be fat free they aren't added. I have also exchanged the pumpkin with sweet potatoes or banana, and they turn out super moist and keep at-least a week in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattiBarton
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These were nice enough. My pickiest son even liked them enough to say so later in the evening.(my pumpkin hating husband didn't eat the meal when I served these *grin*) The pumpkin was more subtle than I personally would have liked, but perhaps I simply didn't pair these with the right meal? One reviewer used applesauce instead of oil, which actually sounds quite good. However, if one wanted more of a pumpkin flavor, one could substitute more pumpkin for the oil instead of applesauce, no? (at least sometimes, depending on the meal)? I personally enjoyed the texture and sweetness (except that my son made these up and he slightly over baked them, so they were a tiny bit dry - I don't think they were dry simply because we used 3/4 C whole wheat and 1 C corn meal...not likely anyway, at least, not based on my past experiences). These muffins were not extremely sweet, but not savory at all. I'd say, for comparison's sake, that these are not quite as sweet as, say, Jiffy corn muffins. If I were pairing these muffins with an autumn salad, then I might actually sweeten them a tad more and add some cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and cloves, and perhaps some chopped dates at times. On the other hand, if I were serving these with a pumpkin-turkey chili with traditional chili spices (no sweet spices) I might make them as is. I'll have to toy around with these some and see when/how they work best for our family (well, the kids and myself anyway....). Thanks for some 'food' for thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
A bit dry. might use applesauce and cook less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States