Pumpkin Cookies with Penuche Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Loved the taste. Only problem I had was with the icing. It crystalized before I could get the cookies iced. I had to keep heating it back up. Maybe I did it wrong but I followed the recipe as stated. If anyone has an idea how to correct this, please let me know. The reason I only gave it four stars is because of the problem with the icing, but everything else deserves 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This cookie recipe was hard to rate. I guess, I would give it between a 3-4. The components were just both so different. I didn't much care for them when they were first made, but they did taste better the next day. I loved the icing, it tasted like a mix between maple and caramel prailines. However, I didn't think it went with the pumpkin cookies at all. It just made them really sweet. The cookies, texturewise were just strange. They were like a mix between cake and a pancake, in the shape of a cookie. They were a bit to moist for a cookie, even the next day. I made 1/2 recipe and got 30 cookies using a cookie scoop. To make the icing quickly, I just microwaved the butter and brown sugar on high for 1 and a half minutes. I stirred it every 30 seconds and that plan worked great. I then used the electric beater to blend the powdered sugar and milk until combined. As the icing was still slightly warm, I just dipped the tops of the cookies in them. It left, a little under half the icing unused. I had planned for these cookies to go to a small office, for Halloween. I ended up changing my mind, though, as the cookie base was just so different than I had originally expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Very good cookies. Used half butter half shortening. They were very soft. I basically couldn't stop eating them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this with real pumpkin instead of canned and it was easy and FANTASTIC! I brought them in to work because I just made too many deserts in one weekend and they were gone within 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
YUMMY! Husband said they were the best cookies he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
These taste as good as they sound. Plan on doubling up your recipe if you have pumpkin-lovers in your house! We blazed through the batch pretty quickly. Fantastic recipe - will be an Autumn tradition in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Big fan! Made this with some leftover canned pumpkin I had and they were like eating pumpkin pie cakes :) (My cookies often turn out cake like) They are super delicious as a tea cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I haven't actually made these myself, but had a friend bring them to a cookie exchange and they were by far my favorite. I'm scared to make any for the fear that I would literally eat each and every one myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Absolutely amazing! Made these for Thanksgiving and everyone loved them. I am not a nut-lover in my cookies but the walnuts were a necessity - thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I followed another reviewers advice & substituted the shortening with butter. These cookies are delicious not too sweet. They are even good without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purse Envy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States