Pumpkin Cookies with Penuche Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This cookie recipe was hard to rate. I guess, I would give it between a 3-4. The components were just both so different. I didn't much care for them when they were first made, but they did taste better the next day. I loved the icing, it tasted like a mix between maple and caramel prailines. However, I didn't think it went with the pumpkin cookies at all. It just made them really sweet. The cookies, texturewise were just strange. They were like a mix between cake and a pancake, in the shape of a cookie. They were a bit to moist for a cookie, even the next day. I made 1/2 recipe and got 30 cookies using a cookie scoop. To make the icing quickly, I just microwaved the butter and brown sugar on high for 1 and a half minutes. I stirred it every 30 seconds and that plan worked great. I then used the electric beater to blend the powdered sugar and milk until combined. As the icing was still slightly warm, I just dipped the tops of the cookies in them. It left, a little under half the icing unused. I had planned for these cookies to go to a small office, for Halloween. I ended up changing my mind, though, as the cookie base was just so different than I had originally expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Very good cookies. Used half butter half shortening. They were very soft. I basically couldn't stop eating them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this with real pumpkin instead of canned and it was easy and FANTASTIC! I brought them in to work because I just made too many deserts in one weekend and they were gone within 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
YUMMY! Husband said they were the best cookies he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
These taste as good as they sound. Plan on doubling up your recipe if you have pumpkin-lovers in your house! We blazed through the batch pretty quickly. Fantastic recipe - will be an Autumn tradition in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Big fan! Made this with some leftover canned pumpkin I had and they were like eating pumpkin pie cakes :) (My cookies often turn out cake like) They are super delicious as a tea cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I haven't actually made these myself, but had a friend bring them to a cookie exchange and they were by far my favorite. I'm scared to make any for the fear that I would literally eat each and every one myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Absolutely amazing! Made these for Thanksgiving and everyone loved them. I am not a nut-lover in my cookies but the walnuts were a necessity - thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I followed another reviewers advice & substituted the shortening with butter. These cookies are delicious not too sweet. They are even good without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purse Envy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I needed a stiff frosting for another recipe and used the frosting from this recipe - I dipped my cookies while it was still warm and it worked out great. It's very sweet, but if dipped you can get a thin layer on the cookies which is just perfect. I'll make it again (and the cookie part too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States