Pumpkin Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and I have to say I was not impressed at all. It wasn't the worst cookie I've ever had but I definitely won't be making it again. I agree with some other reviews in that I really don't think this should be called a cookie. It's a tiny cake. I could also see it being better with more spices. I followed the recipe and it came out very, very bland. Also, I added about a cup more of the confectioners sugar to the icing and cooled it in the fridge with hopes it would thicken up a bit but the icing still came out very runny. With some alterations, this recipe could be good but I was really disappointed in the way these came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
my kiddos loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
these cookies literally MELT in your mouth. I tweeked them with extra cinn, ginger and nutmeg because I like my cookies a little spicier - -but the br sugar glaze was MMMMMM wonderful. They are by far the best in texture cookie I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Spectacular!! I could eat these all day!! Everyone loved them and I didnt even ice them. I really think they may have been to sweet with the icing anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DixieDoesPSP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Yummy! I used butter instead of shortening & added pumpkin pie spice. These are so tender & delicious. I made them for 3 different events this holiday weekend and they were: GONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe. I had a 1 can of pure pumpkin leftover from Thanksgiving dinner and was able to use it for this recipe. I did substitute the shortening and used unsweetened applesauce. The cookie is very moist and cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teeags

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
i think i made these wrong...for some reason i think i didnt put enough flour in them. but then they tasted really flour-y!! i dont really know what happened. i would of ate them all though..except my dogs got ahold of them and ate them all!! i think i'll make them again though and see if they turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffinyRae
Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
SO GOOD! Words cannot describe how much I love these cookies. The only thing I did differently was add a bit of pumpkin pie spice. Also, this recipe makes MUCH more than 18 cookies (more like double that!). If you only want 18 to 20 cookies, cut the recipe in half. However, these cookies are HORRIBLE for you - truly a heart attack in a cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I didn't care for these cookies. They didn't have enough flavor and the texture was too cake like for me. I cooled the frosting in the fridge for approx. 20 mins before spreading on the cookies - worked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Refrigerate the shortening! Seriously, these are absolutely delicious cookies, but the second time I made them I used unopened shortening from the pantry and they flattened like pancakes. I felt like a ridiculous newbie for making the mistake. Still tasted good, though. I did read the other reviews and upped the spice factor. I used 1 Tbs cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp cloves and a pinch of ginger. Also, instead of going through the icing trouble, I made a plain glaze with powdered sugar and milk and dipped the tops in, then made a spiced glaze with powdered sugar, the aforementioned spices, and milk, and drizzled it on top. Taste was phenomenal and it was a pretty presentation as well. Thanks for this recipe, it's an instant favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KY Piano Teacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States