Pumpkin Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These were superb. I took some of the suggestions and added an additional cup of powdered sugar to the icing. Made a depression in the cookie with a soup spoon just after baking, then took a half spoonful of icing and dropped it in while it was still warm. Looked pretty and small effort! I added some extra pumpkin, so it needed to bake a tad bit longer. I removed when it felt firm with my spoon and didn't ooze pumpkin :) Enjoy, these are very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I'll admit when I first saw this recipe I was extremely suspicious of a pumpkin cookie that didn't have chocolate chips in it. How could such a thing exist?!?! But it had good reviews so I thought I would give it a shot. I'm a believer! This is the best pumpkin cookie I have ever had and every single person who has tried them has asked for the recipe. I only made small changes. I added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/8 tsp ground cloves. I have started replacing 1 cup of the shortening with 1 cup of the Smart Balance 50/50 Blend. This makes it a tiny bit more healthy without sacrificing the integrity of the cookie. I've started following the advice of one reviewer and making the frosting first so I don't have to wait all day for it to thicken. Also, I haven't found the 10 minute bake time to be accurate, I usually do 12-15 minutes depending on the size of cookie. They are still beautifully soft and cake-like. Give these cookies a chance, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
These cookies are like eating the top of the muffin. They are moist and perfect for the holiday season. They were very easy to make. I read other reviews and followed some of the changes they did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was the first time I attempted to make this cookie and they came out delicious. One thing I would do differently is creaming together the shorting and sugar first before adding the pumpkin because my batter came out lumpy. No harm done they still came out good. Great recipe if your looking for cake like cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Was trying to find a pumpkin cookie recipe i loved years ago and these were it. Wonderful moist cookies, but I did add more spices (nutmeg, etc). These are fantastic. I made over 5 dozen, but they didn't last more than a few days. Made the "Iced Pumpkin Cookies" rated at over 1000 reviews and they were OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
These cookies were wonderfully soft and moist. They don't spread out at all so I'd suggest flattening them a little before baking. I halved the recipe and substituted whole wheat pastry flour for half the flour. I only used about half of the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
These are really small cakes. Think Little Debbies and Hostess (minus the horrible waxy coatings). They are soft and doughy and the icing is sinful. I ate the whole batch. I'd recommend making a very small dough ball if you want a cripser, more cookie like base. But as the recipe stands, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
These are amazing! I made these for coworkers over a year ago and I still have people asking when I'm going to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Followed the recipe and these came out great. We made them for a bake sale and got rave reviews! Dipping the cookies in the frosting works out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States