Pumpkin Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
We loved these cookies, but I only gave four stars because I modified the recipe. I didn't have enough rice flour so I used half rice and half coconut flour. I also used the original spices but then added more of my own after trying the original recipe. I added 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice and 1 tsp salt. I also rolled the cookie balls into sugar before placing them on the cookie sheet to flatten. This made them a little sweeter and gave them a nice little crunch. They're so good they're addictive!! My husband finished off most of them and he doesn't need gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Is a little off. I to had to add a bunch of spices to kick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Pretty good. I had to add some spice, 1/4 tsp. clove, (could've done more) and I added chocolate chips per other reviews. I subbed flaxmeal for the ground walnuts to make them nut free. I used margarine instead of shortening, so I just dropped them on the cookie sheet and they baked up beautifully. This would be a 5 star recipe if more spices were added - maybe some salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Good recipe. I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg also and skor bits instead of the nuts. When finished baking and cooled I drizzled the cookies with white chocolate. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyner
Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I added chocolate chips to them, they do need a bit more flavor not enough pumpkin or sweet flavor so the chocolate chips were a help. My 15 year old son loved them. I'm still getting used to the GF life so my taste buds are still in the picky stage. All in all though compared to other GF cookies these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I was looking for a good gluten free dessert for my husband, and was quite disappointed. While the flavor itself was satisfactory, the texture was extremely dry and crumbly. They fall apart easily when picked up. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Pretty good! The store only had canned pumpkin pie mix which is already sweetened and I replaced the white sugar with a blend of stevia powder and agave. Replaced the walnuts with chocolate chips. Would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
While a hair dry, these cookies were the only thing my gluten-intolerant mother ate for desert on thanksgiving. Some gluten-intolerant people can be deterred from deserts by all the necessary substitutions that make them a bit too far from the original. However, these were just regular old cookies to Mom, and that made the holiday for us. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skatmatth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made these cookies for a family reunion. They went over well. I hade about a dozen or so more left over, I brought them to work to sample to my customers (I manage a health food store) and they wanted know where to buy them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I prepared these per directions except for omitting the nuts. They had a good flavor and looked nice, but the texture was too doughy. I develop gluten free recipes and mine never have this sort of doughy texture. I'm disappointed. Maybe they need the crunch of nuts to be worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States