Pumpkin Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Easy. That's the first thing that comes to mind when I think of these. I added golden raisins, which is probably a huge plus, as the recipe as-is doesn't have much flavour besides the Crisco. TIPS: I recommend adding lemon grind, all spice .. maybe a bit of cinnamon. While the texture was light and soft, they didn't have much to them. I don't think I'd I'd make them again. They tasted super bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Not a very good cook our basket. So, this seems simple enough! :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
These are the perfect texture, and not overly sweet. I used butter in place of shortening, and added pumpkin pie spices because I love that mix more than cinnamon alone. These are like little spice cakes. Made a simple cream cheese frosting and made cookie sandwiches, and rolled the frosted middle in a bowl of fall colored sprinkles. They looked as good as they taste. A huge hit with adults and children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Simple, easy, quick to make, very soft, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by d
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
These cookies were absolutely delicious! However since I made some adaptations to the recipe I can't give it 5 stars. First off I eliminated the shortening as suggested, and instead used half a cup of butter and half a cup of coconut oil. I didn't want to use white sugar so instead I used a combination of golden and dark brown sugar, and only put in 3/4 of what the recipe called for. Because I wanted these to have more of the pumpkin spice flavouring, I also added powdered ginger and cloves, and they turned out just the way I wanted them too. For fun I topped them with a single craisin, and made a ginger glaze (ginger paste, icing sugar, and a dash of milk) that just put them over the top delicious! They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
There was no recipe for the icing and the cookies were really bread like and there was way too much raw pumpkin taste. I for one didn't like it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRACY C.
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
My family love these cookies they are perfect!! I frost with cream cheese icing and walnuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACY C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillian3cb
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I'm an amateur baker, and I found this a pretty easy and delicious recipe. I did make a few modifications, based on the ingredients I had at home. Instead of shortening, I used 1 cup of margarine. And instead of 1 cup of canned pumpkin, I used 1 1/4 cup of canned pumpkin pie filling (already pre-seasoned), which was about half of an E.D. Smith 544mL can. I didn't add any raisins or walnuts to the batter, but I did add some walnuts as toppings once I dropped the batter onto the cookie sheets. I experimented with toppings, trying pecans, semi-sweet chocolate chips, and white chocolate chips (in addition to the walnut ones, and the ones I left w/o toppings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillian3cb

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
YUMMY!! Used 1/2 applesauce for shortening measurement and can't tell the difference. These are delicious without icing/glaze too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
These came out great! I added 1 tsp. of nutmeg to mine and 1/2 tsp. extra cinnamon (I like a bit of extra spice). I also substituted light butter in place of shortening. They are so soft but don't crumble easily. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States