Pumpkin Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Easy. That's the first thing that comes to mind when I think of these. I added golden raisins, which is probably a huge plus, as the recipe as-is doesn't have much flavour besides the Crisco. TIPS: I recommend adding lemon grind, all spice .. maybe a bit of cinnamon. While the texture was light and soft, they didn't have much to them. I don't think I'd I'd make them again. They tasted super bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Not a very good cook our basket. So, this seems simple enough! :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
These are the perfect texture, and not overly sweet. I used butter in place of shortening, and added pumpkin pie spices because I love that mix more than cinnamon alone. These are like little spice cakes. Made a simple cream cheese frosting and made cookie sandwiches, and rolled the frosted middle in a bowl of fall colored sprinkles. They looked as good as they taste. A huge hit with adults and children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Simple, easy, quick to make, very soft, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by d
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
These cookies were absolutely delicious! However since I made some adaptations to the recipe I can't give it 5 stars. First off I eliminated the shortening as suggested, and instead used half a cup of butter and half a cup of coconut oil. I didn't want to use white sugar so instead I used a combination of golden and dark brown sugar, and only put in 3/4 of what the recipe called for. Because I wanted these to have more of the pumpkin spice flavouring, I also added powdered ginger and cloves, and they turned out just the way I wanted them too. For fun I topped them with a single craisin, and made a ginger glaze (ginger paste, icing sugar, and a dash of milk) that just put them over the top delicious! They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
There was no recipe for the icing and the cookies were really bread like and there was way too much raw pumpkin taste. I for one didn't like it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRACY C.
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
My family love these cookies they are perfect!! I frost with cream cheese icing and walnuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACY C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillian3cb
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I'm an amateur baker, and I found this a pretty easy and delicious recipe. I did make a few modifications, based on the ingredients I had at home. Instead of shortening, I used 1 cup of margarine. And instead of 1 cup of canned pumpkin, I used 1 1/4 cup of canned pumpkin pie filling (already pre-seasoned), which was about half of an E.D. Smith 544mL can. I didn't add any raisins or walnuts to the batter, but I did add some walnuts as toppings once I dropped the batter onto the cookie sheets. I experimented with toppings, trying pecans, semi-sweet chocolate chips, and white chocolate chips (in addition to the walnut ones, and the ones I left w/o toppings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillian3cb

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
YUMMY!! Used 1/2 applesauce for shortening measurement and can't tell the difference. These are delicious without icing/glaze too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
These came out great! I added 1 tsp. of nutmeg to mine and 1/2 tsp. extra cinnamon (I like a bit of extra spice). I also substituted light butter in place of shortening. They are so soft but don't crumble easily. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States