Pumpkin Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
These are soft cookies which will crisp a bit at the edges if you increase the baking time to around 10-12min. I substituted the butterscotch with semi-sweet chocolate chips and halved the sugar because other reviews said it was too sweet. I also added a teaspoon of pumpkin spice and tossed the cooled cookies in a bit of ground cinnamon to make up for decreased amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Cheng

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Awesome! I used whole wheat flour (I always do), I used one teaspoon cinnamon, 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice and I used cinnamon chips. I took the advice on the shaping of the cookie prior to baking. They came out perfect! They are soft, cake-like cookies and everyone LOVED them. It seems to me these are Vegan without the cinnamon chips!? Oh, and they took about 16 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
These are really good but I did make a couple of changes. I used coconut oil instead of shortening for a healthier version. It worked out fine and gave it a bit of flavor. Because some of the reviews said it was too sweet, I used 3/4 cup butterscotch chips and 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips. I think it would have been fine with just butterscotch though. I also substituted pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon. Both of my hard to please boys gave them suspicious looks because of the pumpkin but said they were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Made these using chocolate chips (only 1 cup) and they were fabulous! I didn't have a sifter, but they turned out really nice. I imagine had I sifted the dry ingredients, they would've ended up being more cake-like. Everyone loved them and they disappeared very quickly (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euphorixlost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I don't know where you got this but it is my grandmas recipe ;) I have been making this for Thanksgiving and Christmas since I was old enough to bake. For people thinking these are too sweet or not pumpkin tasting enough, I add a couple teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and cut back or cut out the cinnamon. I also add chopped walnuts with the butterscotch morsels. My favorite cookies ever. Note: pressed for time, I greased a 9 x 12 glass casserole dish and made these like bars last Christmas and every one loved them. You just have to change the amount of time in the oven. I am pretty sure it took at least twenty minutes. I kept pulling them out and adding five more minutes until a toothpick came out clean in the middle. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Changed it up a bit! Used butter instead of shortening, and half white sugar and half brown sugar. Also, I substituted the vanilla with pumpkin spice baking emulsion. Turned out pretty good! ALSO. 'Teaspoonfuls'? The cookies were tiny and I made twice as many as the recipe predicted. Maybe a typo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
awesome cookies. i replaced butterscotch with cinnamon chips and added pecans. to die for! (the swap probably reduced the sweetness as i thought they were not super sweet at all).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abluequandary
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
These are fantastic cookies, lightly pumpkiny and sweet with a great blend of flavors. The proportions are spot-on; mine made exactly the estimated 3 dozen. I added a little ginger and nutmeg as well, just a dash of each, and I recommend playing around with whatever spices you like in your pumpkin to get it just right for you! I also cut the chips back to 1 cup because as other reviewers have mentioned, butterscotch chips are quite sweet. If you like a very sweet cookie you will probably be fine with the given amount; if you like a little more flavor contrast, 1 cup is perfect. They needed 14 minutes in my oven; your mileage may vary. Just poke them with a toothpick, and if it doesn't come out doughy, they're done. I will be adding these to my fall recipe collection to make every year. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joseph King
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Taste good, only I used chocolate chips instead of butterscotch. Still turned out well and everyone liked them, I found the pumpkin taste came out more after they cooled and sat for a bit. Good recipe and may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I liked it used pumpkin pie mix in a can which is just pumpkin puree and spices-used a stick of butter-1/2cup white sugar-1/2 cup dark brown-a little less cinnamon due to spices in pumpkin pie mix and I used white chocolate chips-also I added a little bit more pumpkin pie mix cuz it was a little dry and was not mixing well-so yeah I like my version of this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States