Pumpkin Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I had tried some pumpkin cookies at my local supermarket that were a melt-in-your-mouth cookie with amazing flavor, so I set out to find a recipe for it. (You know they frown upon you asking for the recipe at the bakery counter!) This one came in at a very close second. This recipe made a wonderfully soft and chewy pumpkin cookie. The only thing was you needed to bake them until they were just done to keep them from overcooking, however, they did not hold a very good shelf life as they were extremely moist and got sticky after a while in the container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Photo by GRANOLACOWGIRL
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Is a cookie any less a cookie if it doesn't spread out? I think not. These were DELICIOUS! I added 1Cup of dried cranberries instead of raisins. I also added an additional 1tsp of Pumpkin Spice over and above the called for Cinnamon. (My Pumpkin Spice is made by Watkins, but the ingrediets label says it contains cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice, cloves.) The spice was just right. Definately a keeper recipe - thanks! P.S. 8oz of butter = 1Cup of butter. Not sure why the recipe didn't say so in the first place...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANOLACOWGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Fantastic! This recipe was super easy and SOO DELICIOUS!! I reduced the sugar by half, cut the butter by half and substituted it with applesauce. My neighbors couldn't get enough of them and now I have actually had some call me up to request a batch. This time I will pass on the recipe with the cookies. Love, love, love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gpearl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2000
I did not like this cookie. Infact...after the first batch i turned the oven off and threw the rest of the batter away. I was expecting a nice soft cookie ....sorta like a spice cookie i guess. I do a TON of baking so I'm not exactly sure what could of gone wrong. The bottoms were hard(i make a lot of cookies in my oven) the tops were hard but never browned...didnt really change color. The weirdest part was the stayed in the hard lumps...didnt even flatten down or move when they baked. I really wanted these to turn out...pumpkin cookies sound great. I'll continue searching here for one that tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I would maybe call them "MUFFIN TOPS" instead of cookies... They make WONDERFUL little "tops of the muffin" so to speak. I had a 28 oz. can of pumpkin that needed using, and so I put more (about 2/3 of the can) pumpkin than it calls for, I added LOTS of extra spices thanks to reviewers :)(cloves, nutmeg, EXTRA cinamon, ginger) I put another 1/2 cup of oatmeal + 1 C extra flour --whole wheat organic flour... to offset the extra pumpkin... another 1/2 cup of butter (so I sort of 1½'ed the recipe) The dough was very wet, mushy... so I worried... but within 13 minutes, these little cakies were set, and done. OH.. don't like raisins, so we put in chopped walnuts. These taste like a Starbucks quality Zuchinni muffins with nuts. Very hearty, and good. (I also doubled or maybe tripled the Vanilla) :) If they were not called "cookies", but instead, "Pumpkin Muffin Tops", I would have given them a 5 star rating. (I was simply expecting something different because of the "COOKIE" title) They are very delish though. My kids 10 on down to 3 all love them. Great breakfast treat close to Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAKKOJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
"Chewy" and "soft" are not synonymous. This is not a chewy cookie. It's soft and cakelike (I agree with the reviewer who said it's a lot like small pumpkin breads). I don't like cakey cookies and was hoping for a flat, chewy "proper" cookie, so I was disappointed. But my kids love them and my son said they taste "just like pumpkin pie". They're mild and not super sweet. I made them with whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose flour and as a result I have something I don;t mind them gobbling down as a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I was extremly happy with this receipe. I have never had cookies come out so soft and stay so soft for so long. My kids loved them. I threw in some chocolate chips with the second batch and the kids liked them even more. (but then kids love anything with chocolate chips :-)) Thanks so much for posting this receipe. I am sold and it has become apart of my growing collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I really loved this recipe. I made them for my first graders harvest festival and they were a hit. I omitted the raisins and replaced them with 3/4 cup of raw pumpkin seeds. I thought they turned out great with the addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I have never been a fan of pumpkin, but these are some of the best cookies I have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
many praises to this great recipe people are begging for the recipe. Should I tell them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States