Pumpkin Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Delicious cake, especially for pumpkin lovers like myself. Big hit at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
We loved this with the changes I made. First I used 1/2 cup applesauce instead of butter in the cake. Second I used Ideal sweetener instead of sugar since I am cooking for a diabetic. (I also used Splenda brown sugar blend in the topping.) Then I doubled the pumpkin and increased the spices as suggested by other reviewers. (For reference, I used 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. ground allspice and 1/4 tsp ground cloves. I also added 1 tsp. cinnamon to the topping mix.) Lastly, I used 1/2 unbleached white and 1/2 whole wheat flour as is my practice. This is a good base recipe from which to start because the cake is very moist, and the changes made it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was to die for....so very good. I used low fat sour cream, doubled the pumpkin pie spice and doubled the cinnamon in the crumb topping. A very moist and flavorful cake and I made it in a 10' spring form pan. Next time I will double the topping....excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
VERY DELICIOUS but mine didn't rise. Maybe my baking powder is old . Mine turned out more like a bar. STILL GOOD TASTING THOUGH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
delicious! will be adding more pumpkin next time, as per many reviewers' recommendations. i may also try the topping without the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stanton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
DELICIOUS! the best texture muffins i've ever made! i used the whole can of pumpkin, and i subbed cloves, nutmeg, & cinnamon coz i didn't have pumpkin pie spice. for the topping i added 2 Tbs.flour and 1 pkg.instant oatmeal coz i had no nuts in the house (besides myself LOL j/k). when they were cooled, i srinkled powdered sugar on top. now here's what NOT TO DO: i had a container of greek yogurt-blueberry fruit on the bottom, so i scooped off the top carefully and added that instead of the sour cream which i didn't have. well, they taste like blueberry muffins. who knew? HOWEVER, next time i make blueberry muffins, i'm definitely gonna add one greek blueberry yougurt (fruit and all) to the mix. (btw: the mix made 12 muffins, baked for 35 min's)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This recipe was amazing!! I changed only a couple of things. Made it in a 9x13 pan instead of 2 8-inch pans. and I used a whole 15 1/2 oz can of pumpkin instead of just a half cup. LOTS of requests for recipe and dish! I've made it once and will, I am sure, make it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This was delicious. I used a jack-o-lantern pumpkin (the kind that are too big to be good for anything else but pureeing for recipes just like this). I 1.5x this recipe and made it in a bundt pan. I upped the pumpkin to 2 full cups and reduced the sour cream a bit (don't remember exactly how much). I also put my streusel in a layer in the middle of the cake, rather than the top (since I would be inverting it out of the bundt pan). Drizzled with a simple powdered sugar/water glaze and took it to a ladies' coffee, where it was completely consumed. (Also made some healthy substitutions such as mostly white whole wheat flour, less butter, etc. but with 2 full cups of pumpkin this stayed super moist and delicious!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
What a fantastic recipe. I tripled the recipe for 48 servings for a potluck at work. Wow everyone went nuts.... Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe. It was very moist and delicious. Didnt change a thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is freaking delicious! My brother, who doesn't like pumpkin, LOVED this along with everyone else. I used 1 cup of homemade pumpkin puree. The flavor and texture is way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States