Pumpkin Coconut Milk Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I had to use lemon juice as I didn't have any orange juice. Very coconut tune
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
My husband and I liked it overall. Although, I did make it with some changes. I used lite coconut milk, because that was what I had on hand, 2 generous tsps of red curry powder instead of chili powder, cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves added to taste, lime juice instead of orange juice. It was lacking somewhat, so I added some brown sugar to taste (maybe 1/4 cup or so) and that made it taste a lot better. Not as healthy, but that slightly sweet and spicy really made it come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I just made this and it is easy and delish. I did not have orange juice but did have some true orange so used the equivalent and I thought it was a little bitter so at the end I added 2 TBS of brownulated sugar. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Springs, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Quite bitter. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rowangrey
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I really wanted to like this recipe. It was easy enough, but the end product was vary, very bland. Since I hated to waste what was really a beautiful and well-textured soup, I started throwing the spice cabinet at it. It finally took curry powder to really make this soup sing. If you're going for looks, this recipe is hard to beat, but if you want flavor, try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I didn't have any boullion so I added more cinnamon, clove and nutmeg (in lieu of pumpkin spice) to add depth. For a side soup it's good. I used a large onion, finely chopped and pureed it with an emmersion blender when I added the water for a creamier texture. I used more water than called for to thin the soup out. As suggested, once I added salt and pepper I like it! Made about 3/4ths of a gallon. I'll be taking it with my lunch to work. I think the addition of a chicken or vegetable broth would have added lots of depth however I do like it. The spicy kick works for me! Oh I added a bit less of the chili powder for my taste. Thanks for sharing. I had some coconut milk and needed to do something with the frozen pureed pumpkin I'd made from my Halloween pumpkins. Utilized both at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Great Soup! Subs I made were earth balance butter (instead of regular), only one bouillon cube (cut back on salt) and juice of whole lemon instead of orange juice. Came out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fk2123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
A bit of an acquired taste maybe. I found the ginger and pumpkin pie spice overpowered the pumpkin. My husband also tried it and didn't care for it. Maybe more suited as a small bowl if accompanying a thai meal, but certainly not as a meal itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This recipe took me to a warm, yummy, happy place, and I really enjoyed it. It was slightly missing a depth of flavor that I've found in other pumpkin soups, which is why I took off a star. Still, it was creamy, satisfying, and incredibly simple. I may tinker with the favors in the future, but this will probably hold its place as my go-to pumpkin soup recipe for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Easy to make and it just is creamy with all the taste of fall. I use pumpkins I grew myself and no bullion,instead I boiled one medium sized onion and purreed it, salted to taste now it's a great Vegan recipe. I will make it for years to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States