Pumpkin Coconut Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I actually made this recipe up myself, almost exactly. I saw it in my email this morning and decided to see what it was like, and it's just like mine! This is a great dish, and filling even without the chicken, a great meatless meal. To the person who commented that they couldn't believe it didn't have "curry"... Curry powder is a mixture of spices of widely varying composition based on South Asian cuisine. Curry powder, and the contemporary English use of the word curry are Western inventions and do not reflect any specific Indian food. So the fact that this has a spice mixture can make it a curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
The reason this recipe does not call for curry powder is that Thai curries do not use curry powder!! Curry powder as we think of it is actually a blend of spices that is used in Indian cooking. This blend often includes cumin, coriander and turmeric which this recipe does have listed as ingredients. Thai curries use fresh or dried chilis, ginger, galangal, lemongrass and coriander among other things to make a fresh curry paste. That said, I'm sure you could make this into a delicious Indian-style curry by adding curry powder to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icookfor3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Couldn't believe the recipe didn't actually call for curry...Not sure if that was a mistake or not. But I added 1 tbl. of curry and only put in 2 tsps.of cumin. I used the whole can of coconut milk just because I love it so. I also added long beans (chinese green beans) cut in 1/2 pieces. It came out fantastic, esp. over jasmine rice. A wonderful fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJANE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is also delicious with squash instead of pumpkin. I made 20% more sauce so I could toss in some chickpeas and spinach-- and left out the chicken-- make it vegetarian and filling. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
first of all, i don't eat chickens, so i omitted that whole first step. secondly, i unfortunately had only 'lite' coconut milk. i should have thought about this & maybe reduced my veggie stock on the stove. i added sliced red bell peppers when i put in the pumpkin & a few minutes before it was done cooking, i threw in some thawed peas. to get a bit of a crunch, as well as some protein, i topped the final plate with chopped roasted peanuts. over all, this was a very easy dish to prepare, but due to my silly mistake, the final flavors were muted and watery. thanks for this recipe! i will definitely be making it again, but with full fat coconut milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I've had this dish prepared by a fantastic thai chef, she used sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin, and it was sooo lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Just blah. Used tofu instead of chicken and added green beans....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
My husband made this dish for me and it was great. He replaced the pumpkin with butternut squash. I would definitely request this dish again, it was pretty spicy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was really good. The reason I voted it a 3 star was just because I think it needed to be saucier and more coconutty. I think next time I might increase the coconut content by 50% or more and increase the overall liquid content. Another good addition might be chickpeas, but overall a very good recipe that will be added to our rotation. I didn't have chicken but I added bits of tofu and that worked very well. Very easy to make too which was a bonus. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This is delicious! Add salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States