Pumpkin Coconut Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I used this recipe as a basis for what to do with the beautiful freshly dug ginger and the lovely little pumpkin I got from my CSA yesterday. I also had some leftover roast chicken that I substituted for the chicken step. Some leftover apples cooked in butter and cinnamon was added near the end as an after thought since apples are often used to make curries. I used the Thai spices called for in the recipe. I used a whole can of coconut milk (don't like to leave half cans of this) and I used some concentrated chicken base and a little water instead of broth. So actually I deviated from this recipe a lot. But the result was exquisite served over rice. My husband commented that I could have added more liquid but I liked the consistency. It was delicious. And I have leftovers and my CSA pumpkin is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Loved this! I added a tblspn of curry and also a generous handful of fresh spinich. It came out sooooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I've made this a couple of times, first for Halloween dinner using pumpkin, then another time with sweet potatoes and other time with pumpkin again. It was superb every time... The first time, I managed to find fresh turmeric root and used that, which gave it an amazing burst of flavour (though it as good with powdered turmeric too), and I used concentrated homemade chicken stock for the broth, which gives great flavour, too. I added more coconut milk to have more sauce (my fave part of curries!). Watch for the red pepper flakes, as they are potent and if you don't like "spicy" then reduce the amount in the recipe. It's in the rotation - a great recipe. I serve it over fragrant white jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Point Roberts, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I thought this would be the same recipe that I've had twice now at my favorite Thai restaurant, however it wasn't. That being said, this recipe was delicious!! I used light coconut milk because that's what was in the cupboard, and omitted the onion. It was just perfect. I had never prepared pumpkin before. I removed all the seeds and cut it in chunks and steamed it for about 15 minutes....made removing the skin so easy. That suggestion came from the cashier at the local vegetable stand! I will definitely make this again! The amount of heat was just right! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This dish is easy to prepare and incredibly flavorful. The aromas while cooking were absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Just like my favorite Thai restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I've had this dish prepared by a fantastic thai chef, she used sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin, and it was sooo lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was really good. The reason I voted it a 3 star was just because I think it needed to be saucier and more coconutty. I think next time I might increase the coconut content by 50% or more and increase the overall liquid content. Another good addition might be chickpeas, but overall a very good recipe that will be added to our rotation. I didn't have chicken but I added bits of tofu and that worked very well. Very easy to make too which was a bonus. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
The reason this recipe does not call for curry powder is that Thai curries do not use curry powder!! Curry powder as we think of it is actually a blend of spices that is used in Indian cooking. This blend often includes cumin, coriander and turmeric which this recipe does have listed as ingredients. Thai curries use fresh or dried chilis, ginger, galangal, lemongrass and coriander among other things to make a fresh curry paste. That said, I'm sure you could make this into a delicious Indian-style curry by adding curry powder to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icookfor3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I have a glut of pumpkins, and so I think I'm trying every pumpkin not-dessert recipe on this site. This was ok, but far from the best. The presentation isn't beautiful, the flavors are ok, but not complex. The best part about it was definately the sauce, which I could eat by itself over rice. Decent, quick, healthyish (other than the coconut milk), but not a show-stopper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States