Pumpkin Coconut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I had my doubts, as i had never heard of such a flavor combination. ..but, this bread is a winner!! Recommended!! I used a finer shredded version of the coconut...also recommended...[if u can find it]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trigun666

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
As a rule I only rate the recipe as it is written. Sadly I hate nuts so much that I cannot bring myself to add it to the recipe before rating it. I am rating it anyway as most people I know just omit nuts in quick breads anyway. This bread is great. Not as great as the Jack O Lantern Loaf from Better Home and Gardens kid cook book in 1989 but.......still great. I prefer to use dried cranberries or chocolate chips in place of the nuts but it is good without. I also prefer vegetable oil but it is also great with the vegetable oil that it calls for. I am not sure if the recipe intended sweetened or unsweetened coconut shreds but I always use the unsweetened and it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I put a full can instead of 1/2 bc I was making half the recipe...What will this do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
3 cups sugar & vegetable oil- Terribly unhealthy - Can't you come up with a better recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Delicious! I did decrease the sugar to 1 1/2c white sugar only, next time I think I would do half white & half brown, 1 tsp salt & only used the end of a bag of unsweetened flaked coconut & used homemade pumpkin pie spice, about 2 tsp, 1/2 c oil & 1/2 c applesauce (tip if you only need about 1/2c applesauce for a recipe buy a jar of babyfood applesauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I make this recipe very often. Especially when I'm going to a party or holiday at friends or family's house. And it is always a hit. This recipe will now stay in this family. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The first pumpkin bread I've ever eaten, much less made. Holy cow, this is wonderful. I used only brown sugar (had no white), added raisins, and used applesauce in place of oil. I didn't have ground clove, would've been perfect if I had. Great recipe, thanks for sharing! Oh yeah, the coconut...perfect add texturally, didn't overpower with taste, only added slightly. This recipe is totally in the keeper box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Delicious , I cut down the white sugar of 1/2 cup , and the brown sugar also . I used small tin foil loaves , they will be great as gift's . My son just adored it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was a really good pumpkin bread and I don't even like pumpkin! I think that the coconut wasn't really necessary as I didn't get any coconut flavor at all, but my boyfriend liked that it made it more chewy. I also used a full cup of walnuts and it had the perfect amount of crunch for my taste. I will definitely be making this again although I may try it without the coconut or perhaps use some coconut extract to bring out that flavor more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States