Pumpkin Coconut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
I made so many loaves of this bread. I brought it into work and after 30 minutes it was completly gone! The coconut makes it so moist without giving it a real coconut taste. I highly recommend this wonderful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
My husband loved this. I made it one night planning to freeze one of the loaves, but by the time they cooled my husband had already finished the first one and half of the second. Great recipe, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Foreman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlotte1203
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Delicious! The only change I made was using 1/2 C oil and 1/2 C applesauce. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowellville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
AWESOME!! This was a wonderful bread and I'm not even a huge fan of pumpkin! It was very moist and flavorful. I made them into "mini" breads and also made a decorative bunt cake out of it. They all came out wonderful and everyone loved them. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I'm surprised the "review numbers" on this one are not a lot higher. I had to use up some pumpkin puree, and since I had coconut too, I decided to try it. This is FANTASTIC!! I just used 4 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice (since I didn't have cloves or allspice) and I used 1 cup of walnuts. It does take the entire hour to cook, and I had to do an extra 5-10 minutes to make sure the middle of the loaves were done. This will become a regular for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Very nice! I used applesauce in place of the vegetable oil and cut down the number of egg yolks to one without compromising flavor, texture, consistency,etc. Very flavorful bread which presents beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Made this twice, second time a double batch. Nothing but GOOD to say about this recipe. I leave out the clove and add a little extra of the other spices. Took out enough batter before adding the coconut to make one loaf and it was great, too. I don't even LIKE pumpkin, but I like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Oh man, I just made this loaf...wow! It is sooooo good. This is the kind of loaf you don't want to make too often because you end up eating the whole thing by yourself. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Fabulous recipe!!! Smells absolutely heavenly while baking. I substituted apple sauce for the oil, and only used 2 eggs. I made half the batch in a mini-muffin tin, and the other half in a loaf pan. Excellent! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This bread is delish! Very moist and spicy. The coconut adds a surprising texture and flavor. I can't make anything by following the recipe exactly, so I made the following changes: decreased the white sugar to 1 1/2 cups (will probably try 1 cup next time), substituted 1 cup applesauce for the oil, increased the cinnamon to 2 tsp, and sprinkled cinnamon/sugar combination on top before it baked. It took quite a bit longer to bake than the recipe said (about 1:15 or 1:20--I lost track). It's delicious after it cools, but even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States