Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Overall pretty good. I enjoyed the flavor combo, but I don't know that it will work for everyone. The glaze is excellent, though. Those who say it is gritty might want to try heating it longer and stiring until you're certain the brown sugar has dissolved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
this cake was really good, we loved it and I was skeptical at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fwickafwee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oldsmar, Florida, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I made this recipe for my husband and he absolutely loved it! He said that this was the best cake ever! It is so moist and has a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
made moist mini-bundts, but they had no flavor at all. even added an extra 1/4 cup cocoa. still nothing. maybe will try again with choc. chips instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I did indeed weep and exult at this cake, an outstanding combination of seasonal flavors. Because I was using fresh pumpkin, I pureed it for smoothness, but didn't think to do that 'til I already had it mixed with the cream and eggs. That may have made my version a little fluffier than the original, and turned out impressively taller than the average Bundt cake. The cake was a hit with colleagues at an early Thanksgiving dinner, and the babysitters enjoyed cleaning the frosting pan at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I would probably say 3.5 stars. This was just okay for us. The glaze did end up being very sweet & grainy even though I did it very carefully & used a whisk. The cake is very dense but moist. Not really sweet at all except for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe is really good, and the pumpkin helps it to stay moist longer. The only caution I would make is that it took almost twice as long to bake as the recipe said it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I made this cake for Thanksgiving Dinner and it was a hit. I followed the directions exactly and got a perfect result. It was very rich and moist but not oversweet. There was a hint of pumpkin which was delicious, even though not everyone could taste it. I didn't put as much sugar in the icing and the cake as the recipe called for, and it still turned out amazing. I would definetely reccomend making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Delicious, my husband made it for me and he did great, especially since it was his first time baking! I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudMommyof2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is so easy and looks so impressive! I tried this around Thanksgving, and had to make it again soon as my family was asking for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEANNA
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States