Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
made moist mini-bundts, but they had no flavor at all. even added an extra 1/4 cup cocoa. still nothing. maybe will try again with choc. chips instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I did indeed weep and exult at this cake, an outstanding combination of seasonal flavors. Because I was using fresh pumpkin, I pureed it for smoothness, but didn't think to do that 'til I already had it mixed with the cream and eggs. That may have made my version a little fluffier than the original, and turned out impressively taller than the average Bundt cake. The cake was a hit with colleagues at an early Thanksgiving dinner, and the babysitters enjoyed cleaning the frosting pan at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I would probably say 3.5 stars. This was just okay for us. The glaze did end up being very sweet & grainy even though I did it very carefully & used a whisk. The cake is very dense but moist. Not really sweet at all except for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe is really good, and the pumpkin helps it to stay moist longer. The only caution I would make is that it took almost twice as long to bake as the recipe said it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I made this cake for Thanksgiving Dinner and it was a hit. I followed the directions exactly and got a perfect result. It was very rich and moist but not oversweet. There was a hint of pumpkin which was delicious, even though not everyone could taste it. I didn't put as much sugar in the icing and the cake as the recipe called for, and it still turned out amazing. I would definetely reccomend making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Delicious, my husband made it for me and he did great, especially since it was his first time baking! I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudMommyof2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is so easy and looks so impressive! I tried this around Thanksgving, and had to make it again soon as my family was asking for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEANNA
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I followed the recipe to T, Unfortunately, we didn't like to way it tasted. The texture was too dense, the cooking time mentioned was off, I needed to bake mine at least 20 minutes more and keep inseting the tooth pick. I wouln't make it again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
An odd combination of flavors I felt. The frosting is really sweet and the cake doesnt seem to be sweet enough, as odd as that sounds. It just didnt mesh well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andi
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This cake turned out very moist and rich, and it looked beautiful on the plate. Unfortunately, we didn't love the way it tasted. It was too spicey for me and my family, or maybe it was simply the pumpkin-chocolate combination. We shared it with our neighbor and she really liked it. So, if you think you'll like the spicey pumpkin and chocolate combination, go for it - you'll love how moist and flavorful this cake is. If, on the other hand, the combination doesn't sound good, you're probably right. Try something less risky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States