Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Barrie Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This cake is amazing, my boyfriend has requested that it become a thanksgiving tradition from now on. Dense, moist and just the right balance of spicy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Awesome cake, I don't even care much for chocolate. I did add 1/8 cup of cream because the batter seemed a little dry during mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I baked this as cupcakes on a convection setting and didn't have any problems with needing more baking time. I did cut back a little on the sugar and replace part of the butter with olive oil. They turned out well and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoreCoffeePlease

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This cake is delicious with a very good texture. Definitely needed 15 extra minutes in the oven. The frosting needs to be cooked longer than you would think and maybe not to drizzle immediately. I'm going to make it again maybe sprinkle some nutmeg on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very moist. I couldn't tell that it had pumpkin after the second bite. However, my fiance said he could taste the pumpkin pretty well. I had this with cream cheese frosting instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Very moist & delicious. I did not sift the confectioners sugar. Just whisk it and the clumps go away. I had to bake my cake about 10 min longer than the suggested time. I'm also at a high elevation & didn't modify anything. Great recipe & everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
very heavy, dense cake. thought it had great flavor. had to cook it 20 minutes more than recipe stated. the frosting turned out fine for me - no lumps even though i didnt sift the powdered sugar. but, the frosting was thin so when i poured it over the cake it essentially just ran off the cake onto the pan. next time i will halve the frosting and maybe wait a bit before pouring it on the cake in hopes that it'll thicken a bit and stay on the cake (definitely didnt look like the frosting in the recipe picture). i think this would be great with the cinnamon ice cream recipe from this site! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This cake was fantastic. Moist and delicious. The icing is great, but next time I would make a half recipe of the icing as there was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Cooking time wasn't long enough, and i think i may have baked it too long. still was tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghost33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I brought this to our Thanksgiving gathering and everyone seemed to like it. As others suggested, I used evaporated milk in place of heavy cream. My husband thought it was good but didn't think it qualified for a five star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States