Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I took a picture because it came out so pretty. Very moist. It needed a little something else though; I will think on it for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Really good! I substituted white flour for whole wheat and the cream for milk and it still turned out moist and tasting great, I think next time I may add a little more pumpkin and pumpkin spice so that you can taste it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was actually a really interesting and delicious recipe, the pumpkin flavor was very subtle, but the combination of chocolate and pumpkin went very well together. My frosting didn't really hold up too well, the recipe said to pour on while still hot, but I think next time I will wait a few more seconds for it to slightly cool before pouring it so that it will look thicker. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
amazingly moist, a huge hit! I definitely agree with the sifting of the powdered sugar. I will do that next time, as mine had lumps in the glaze...but still fantastic taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Today we made this delicious cake. I'm always trying to reduce calories but maintain flavor so I reduced butter to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup canola oil, used whole wheat pastry flower instead of white, used 1-1/2 cups raw sugar instead of 2 cups white sugar and substituted cream cheese frosting (lite version) for suggested frosting. It was delicious and the pumpkin and whole wheat flour make it nutritious as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This Cake I amazing. My kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musick_clan4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wickenburg, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This cake was just ok. The cake itself is not overly sweet, which is nice, but it's more of a chocolate cake than a pumpkin cake. The pumpkin flavor is overpowered by the chocolate. I had to bake it for 65 minutes instead of 40. After cooling it came out of the pan smoothly. I did not, however, like the icing. Maybe I made it wrong, but the icing just absorbed into the cake, not laying on top and slowly drizzling down nicely like in the picture. Perhaps this could be remedied by letting it cool a little before drizzling it on. The recipe said to do it immediately though. I was going to make this for a Thanksgiving potluck for my husband's office, but I'm going to make pumpkin curry soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
So delicious and moist! A fantastic fall cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
it was an easy cake to make, however with the sauce you should wait a minute or two before drizzling it over the cake because it won't stick. You will find all the sauce stuck to the bottom of your serving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAX8144

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I made this for my book club friends and they all loved it!! I baked it @ 375 by mistake for 30 minutes and then, 15 more minutes @ 345. I did add 1/2 bag of milk chocolate chips per another reviewers suggestion and I let the frosting sit for a few minutes before drizzling over the cake. Very good and it looked wonderful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Huntertown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States