Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Amazing! So moist and delicious. As written, the recipe made 24 regular sized cupcakes. Instead of the glaze listed here I made a pumpkin cream cheese frosting that complemented it very well - but the cake is so moist and flavorful itself that it barely needed the frosting. Everyone loved them and I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlee
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I would have liked to taste more pumpkin flavor as well as the spices. I think the chocolate overpowers this recipe. The frosting is very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
SO DELICIOUS! This was one of my first baking ventures, and it turned out wonderfully. It's very easy to make, and the cake is rich and moist. The glaze creates the perfect combo, and I suggest waiting for it to thicken (off of the heat) for a few minutes before topping on the cooled cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was very very moist and yummy. A friend commented that they were leery of the pumpkin/chocolate combo, but were pleasantly surprised. Frosting was just enough, too, and wasn't over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Cake was deliciously moist and easy to make. Will be my new holiday go-to cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I took a picture because it came out so pretty. Very moist. It needed a little something else though; I will think on it for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Really good! I substituted white flour for whole wheat and the cream for milk and it still turned out moist and tasting great, I think next time I may add a little more pumpkin and pumpkin spice so that you can taste it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was actually a really interesting and delicious recipe, the pumpkin flavor was very subtle, but the combination of chocolate and pumpkin went very well together. My frosting didn't really hold up too well, the recipe said to pour on while still hot, but I think next time I will wait a few more seconds for it to slightly cool before pouring it so that it will look thicker. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
amazingly moist, a huge hit! I definitely agree with the sifting of the powdered sugar. I will do that next time, as mine had lumps in the glaze...but still fantastic taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Today we made this delicious cake. I'm always trying to reduce calories but maintain flavor so I reduced butter to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup canola oil, used whole wheat pastry flower instead of white, used 1-1/2 cups raw sugar instead of 2 cups white sugar and substituted cream cheese frosting (lite version) for suggested frosting. It was delicious and the pumpkin and whole wheat flour make it nutritious as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States