Pumpkin Chocolate Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Quite dense and tasty. Did not have the problem of runny icing--quite the opposite. As soon as I added the confectioner's sugar, it began to harden almost immediately, so it sort of clumped on top rather than running down the sides, even though I was working quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I made this for my bunco club and it was a hit. Made it in a bundt pan. The glaze is fabulous. I stirred it up and cool it down some to make it thicker before frosting. I also didn't have applesauce, so I used oil instead. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS13JOSEPH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Took to Donna's for dinner group and everyone loved it. Nice and dense and caramel topping is awesome. It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This cake is AMAZING!! It is SOOOO moist and flavorful, it adds a whole new meaning to "comfort" food! I followed the recipe exactly, except for I added an extra teaspoon of the pumpkin pie spice (cause I love pumpkin flavor!) and the cake itself was PERFECT!! The glaze was ok but I personally don't think the cake needed it. Next time I'll just dust the top with powdered sugar when I serve it up. I'll most definitely be making this delicious cake again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babytmedley
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I had such high hopes! I made and brought to someone's house. Mortified because no one cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Had this cake at my aunt's last night, it was sooooo good, I!can't wait to make it! Not your typical chocolate cake, but definitely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Great moist and chocolatey recipe. I didn't taste much of the pumkin though. I will defintiely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINZESSINTF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is very moist and flavorful (not as chocolate-y as I expected), and the guests were all impressed. Personally I thought it needed salt. I'm not usually one to add salt to everything (in fact, I halve it in most recipes), but a little bit of salt would have improved this cake. Also, the bake time was about 15 minutes longer for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Fabulous. They were eaten in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by des114

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Love this cake! I did make a couple of changes (just b/c I wanted to experiment). Instead of pumpkin, I used sweet potato and left out the pumpkin pie spice (didn't want to use it). I also subbed cola for the cream in the cake b/c I love coke cakes. I did have to bake it 25 extra minutes, but it may have been b/c of my substitutions. Such a wonderfully moist cake! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonnata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States